San Francisco or Bust


This past weekend, Michael and I went away together, just the two of us, for the first time in five years.  Destination: San Francisco.  Which, by the way, is the very first place we ever went away together to many, many moons ago in the infancy of our relationship.  This is the fourth time we’ve been to SF together.  I guess it goes without saying that we like this city!

Getting there -

Let me just say that I do NOT like to fly.  Even these little puddle-jumpers make me anxious.  The drink in the airport restaurant before we boarded helped a lot!

The hotel -

The Petite Auberge, built in 1917.  I LOVE the old architecture in SF.  On our arrival, two bottles of wine awaited us, compliments of my sweet, thoughtful, wonderful friend Amy.

Dinner the first night down at the Wharf -

Since we’ve already been here a number of times and have seen most of the big attractions (the Golden Gate Bridge, etc.), we decided to just wing it. So with no itinerary or concrete plans, we wandered the city on foot, by cable car, taxi and bus, and took in all the sights, sounds and smells. San Francisco is a seething pool of human diversity – there are people of all shapes, sizes, colors, languages, abilities, socio-economic levels, and orientations. It’s pretty exhilarating.

Oh, and it just happened to be the weekend of the Gay Pride parade!  Although we missed the official event, people were gearing up for it all over the city.  Even Gap incorporated Gay Pride into its window dressings – go Gap!

We ate and drank ourselves silly – it was a weekend of decadence and indulgence.

And then it was time to head home . . .

It was a much-needed respite from life as we know it.

***

I have to admit that I missed the kids while we were away.  It was a little strange to be so far away from them.  They were well taken care of, though, left in the capable hands of the lovely and talented, Alycia, who has been babysitting for us for about seven and a half years now.

9 Comments on “San Francisco or Bust”

  1. Heather
    June 28, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    First of all — you look amazing! Beautiful! We are going there next month and this post got me so excited for our trip! I love SF as well and could go back and back and back. It’s always a different experience everytime we go. So glad you got away and got to enjoy being just the two of you! You’ve earned it!
    xo

    • Lisa
      June 28, 2011 at 2:23 am #

      Thanks Heather!!

  2. tiny
    June 28, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    I need details on that salmon… Damn! I thought it was stuffed shells at first… Where? and was it good?

    • Lisa
      June 28, 2011 at 5:28 am #

      It was salmon on crab ravioli, I believe. I had two martinis, though, so I can’t swear to it :)

      • Stacey
        June 28, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

        That looks like Scoma’s Restaurant, so yes, that would be broiled salmon on crab ravioli. It’s local King Salmon season, according to the website, and it’s served with organic rainbow chard and beurre blanc.

  3. christina
    June 28, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    awesome pictures!

  4. Stacey
    June 28, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    You make The City look beautiful! I’m so glad you had a great time. I love having a day off & just bumming around in neighborhoods I don’t normally go to. You & Michael look so relaxed and, dare I say, in love.

    I need to know where you found your sitter. I can’t find someone to watch 2 kids for less than about $30/hour, and you found someone to watch six kids all weekend! Score.

    • Lisa
      June 28, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks Stacy! We really lucked out on our sitter. She’s the niece of someone I used to be in a local mom’s group with. When Joey was a baby, Michael and I never went out together because Joey was such a high-maintenance baby. This woman in my MOMS Club kept telling me about her niece who babysat (at the time, she was 20, working and going to college), and I had her phone number pinned to my bulletin board for about six months before I finally got up the courage to call her and inflict my crabby toddler on her. She had the magic touch with Joey, and has with all our kids, and has been babysitting for us ever since – even though she’s almost 28 now and has a full life of her own! She loves our kids, they love her, and we feel really, really fortunate to have her. Not only has she babysat for dozens and dozens of date nights, but also while the twins were in the hospital as infants with meningitis, while Finn was in the NICU after his birth, many times through Michael’s illnesses, a few weekends so we could get away, and she was here when Lilah was born at home and was one of the first people to hold Lilah minutes after she was born. Needless to say, we love her!!

  5. Lisa
    July 1, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    If you haven’t tried Dottie’s True Blue Cafe… it’s a MUST for breakfast. But it’s best if you are early birds. They open the doors at 7:30am and the line starts forming a half hour early. It’s that good – decent menu, awesome unique specials. Yum.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 314 other followers

