The Last Time I Will Ever Write About Kelle Hampton. Ever. I Think.


I knew very well when I wrote my review of Bloom a few days ago that it wasn’t going to go over very well with a lot of people.  I actually had a bit of a knot in my stomach as my cursor hovered over “Publish” because I knew very well the shitstorm that would ensue.  And I was right – it’s still going on, though I think it’s died down some.  You can go check it out yourself on my book blog if things like this yank your chain.  Or maybe you’ve already been over there and have seen the hoopla, in which case a lot of what I’m about to say here will be redundant.

Still, I feel compelled to say a few things, so bear with me (or don’t).

First and foremost, it was a book review, people.  As someone else pointed out, basically a product review.  Are there personal observations in my review?  Yes, because it’s a memoir, personal by its very nature.  I could be way off on my observations, but that’s what they are: my observations based on what the author put forth in her book.

I’m a little tired of this whole notion that poor Kelle was just sitting there, minding her own business, and BAM! this burden of being a representative of the Down syndrome community was foisted upon her.  I don’t buy it.  She started thinking in terms of writing a book the day after Nella was born (she says so in her book).  How her birth story went viral, I’ll never know for sure, but I have no doubt that her dad played a very instrumental part in making that happen (he was monitoring the comments on the birth story from the get-go; that is also clear from her book).   Kelle didn’t want anything to do with a Down syndrome support group (which I totally get – I’m not a support group person myself, and the last thing I wanted to do when I was still grappling with Finn’s diagnosis in the early days was surround myself with a bunch of other people who lived and breathed Down syndrome – that was my perception, anyway), but when she was asked to be a guest speaker at a local Ds support group meeting, she accepted.  Nella was two months old.  Within a couple of months of Nella’s birth, she was contacted by a literary agent.  My point?  I think her popularity fed on itself, and people wanted to be a part of it, and she wasn’t sitting idly by with no idea that all the pressures of fame and fortune were about to fall into her lap against her will – she wanted it and she welcomed it.  And really?  More power to her!  She took some opportunities that presented themselves to her, and look where she’s at now – good for her.

Just let’s stop this whole poor Kelle thing, okay?

This leads me to another issue I’d like to address: I do not begrudge Kelle her success.  This seems to be a very popular accusation to hurl at anyone who is not a fan of Kelle’s.  What I do begrudge her is the materialism and vanity and sense of entitlement and self-congratulations she, at the very least, portrays (though I’m positive these aren’t the qualities she intends to portray).  It’s a turnoff to me.  It’s not what I think life is about, and I guess I’d like to see something deeper gained from having a child with Down syndrome.

Having Finn has changed me.  It’s changed my whole word view and how I see my fellow human beings – not just those with Down syndrome, but people from all walks of life who are victims of marginalization and dehumanization.  It’s changed the way I approach teaching my kids about diversity, and it’s making them more compassionate and open-minded than they probably would have been had Finn not come along sporting his extra chromosome.  It’s taught me to hold strong to my convictions and speak out, even when it’s uncomfortable to do so – and my 15-year old son has already internalized that lesson, all thanks to Finn.  It’s changed how we – our whole family – see the world.  It’s not about how the world sees us.

Ahem.

I don’t know how having a child with Down syndrome has changed Kelle, because she doesn’t really ever say.  Has she done a HUGE benefit to the Down syndrome community by showing that Down syndrome can be beautiful and that life can be good with Down syndrome?  A resounding YES!  And I thank her for that.  But there’s more to this whole journey than just image – or at least I’d like to think so.  People like to say in defense of Kelle that she was all sunshine and rainbows before Nella was born, and she’s still sunshine and rainbows – it’s not like she’s changed, for goodness sake! Yeah, that’s kind of a problem for me.  Why isn’t she changed?  Maybe she is.  But she doesn’t tell us that.

And this whole “optimism” thing.  I’ll just say it: what the hell does she have to not be positive or optimistic about?  What has she overcome?  This might be the one thing about her that I am a little bitter about.  There are those of us who have lived some pretty hardscrabble lives, who have faced things like abuse and being a runaway and drug addiction and more abuse and abandonment and alcoholism and the untimely deaths of loved ones and imploding marriages and cancer – and who have somehow still managed to hang onto gratitude and humor and, yes, positivity.  And those of us who have faced down real adversity like that?  Well, it’s just really hard to see someone like Kelle Hampton as a hero.

I’m tired, tired, tired of the terms “angry,” “bitter,” “jealous,” “sour grapes,” and “bully” that are so frequently thrown around with regard to anyone who expresses distaste for the Kelle Hampton brand.  I saw a comment on someone’s Facebook thread today where someone said something to the effect of “There are people on this journey who are still so bitter and angry over their own circumstances that they can’t be happy for someone else.”  I have no doubt at all that that thread pertained directly to my review of Bloom, though nobody had the balls to say so.

Honestly, I don’t even want to dignify that with a response.  I’ll just say that anyone who has spent any time at all reading my blog knows that I am far from bitter or angry about Finn’s diagnosis.

And that’s another thing:  people who come and get all up in arms and leave comments, not because they’re even remotely interested in my blog, but because they happened to Google “Kelle Hampton” and have deemed themselves Keepers of Kelle Hampton’s Reputation.  Which is just weird.  Get a life, okay?  Despite being accused of “riding on Kelle’s coattails,” I really want people to read my blog because they’re interested in the things I write about – not because I mention a name that they’ve become preoccupied with seeing untarnished.

What is it about Kelle Hampton that elicits such passionate, emotional responses?  She’s like a new religion for some people, it seems.  It’s fascinating, and disturbing.  Let’s just be rational, people.  Okay?

Phew.  Glad I got that off my chest.

 

 

,

40 Comments on “The Last Time I Will Ever Write About Kelle Hampton. Ever. I Think.”

  1. Extranjera
    April 13, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    Thanks.
    That’s it.

  2. TUC
    April 13, 2012 at 1:28 am #

    You are my rockstar Lisa :-)

  3. CJ
    April 13, 2012 at 3:38 am #

    Oh! You’re such a bully!!

    Kidding!

    Very well spoken, my friend!!

    At least this is taking attention away from that other guy!

  4. Jody
    April 13, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    good job, I’m sorry you had to go thru the s@#t-storm.

  5. stacyq
    April 13, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Yes, I agree — to all of it! Thanks for representing sanity and reason and real life with DS. I keep telling myself the 15 minutes of KH fame will end. Soon. Please. She’s a Kardashian sister with a baby with DS. Her children are fashion accessories. Yet, the masses tune-in. It’s madness. LOL!

  6. Nancy
    April 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    This post confirms it. You’re definitely passive-aggressive. And with your attitude, you’ll always be a “wannabe writer” unless you can get people excited about negativity and the feeling of sour grapes.

    • Lisa
      April 13, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, Nancy! So I take it you’re a Kelle Hampton Groupie? Fun!

    • J
      April 13, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      I want to know how much the Hampton camp pays Nancy per hour to counter act every negative comment out there? Get a real life Nancy.

      Stacyq, the kids are her fashion accessories. Very well said.

      Good job Lisa. Know the crazies are just as “high school” as Hampton. I love your blog.

  7. Nancy
    April 13, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    No, sorry, not a groupie of anyone’s. Just good at reading between the lines. Read some of your writings regarding your turbulent years when you were young. I’m sorry your experiences haven’t made you a kinder, gentler person to others and their experiences, no matter your opinion. There are enough Debbie Downers in the world.

    • Lisa
      April 13, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Then don’t read my blog, ‘Kay? Simple
      Solution.

      • Nancy
        April 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

        Kay! Discovered your blog just today. Definitely wasn’t planning on returning for any further reading. Found it odd that your blog comes up when one does a Kelle Hampton search, so did a little detective work and figured out why you’re so glum and P-A. Best wishes to you as you maneuver through life on your terms. Your oldest son sounds like a gem, though. Kudos to you there.

    • sandy
      April 13, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      Talk about passive aggressive! Nancy, take a good look in the mirror and then go away.

    • Chloe
      July 27, 2012 at 4:03 am #

      Nancy, you should practice what you “preach”(ahem)…your comments clearly show YOU gained nothing positive as a human being during your own “turbulent years”, (we all have them!) And your own experiences caused you to become who you are today, sadly.

      Case in point: If you do not like what is written about KH…practice what you “preach” and simply Do.Not. Read.It. “Commenters” like you most certainly & brutally advocate the same advice to those whose views do not subscribe to those of Enjoying Fantasy Land over there in blogland.

  8. Extranjera
    April 14, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    All I did was object to KH’s description of her daughter’s eyes as exotic (to me that’s a textbook example of making someone the ‘other’) on BBC and that didn’t go so well either.
    Could I really be the only one to whom it just sounds completely wrong? I sure hope not.

  9. Holly Waligora (@notaperfectmama)
    April 14, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

    Keepers of Kelle Hampton…
    ha! I love it! I totally get weirded out too…
    wow, and that Nancy up there is kind of a bitch, huh?

  10. Inger Klemm
    April 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I donated $$ for Ds for the first time because of KH. Nella’s birth story kinda grabbed me; it was the first time I had ever seen anything in print that remotely described what I felt when my daughter was diagnosed with Ds 17 years ago (a wrong diagnosis as it turns out, but that’s a book in itself). I could relate to that raw, bitter grief and I thought it was brave of her to put it out there. It turns out that the birth story was the only part of this deal that I was able to relate to. Having a kid with Ds is tough; having one when you’re broke/a single parent/living in a new community with no support system/sketchy health care, etc. is tougher. I have seen all of these situations in my line of work and it makes for some pretty desperate families. I totally get that these people might be bitter when reading about Kelle’s portrayal of life with Ds and I assume that her book wouldn’t be at the top of their reading lists.

  11. Inger Klemm
    April 14, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

    As far as the KH fan club thing goes, it seems to me that this whole thing is turning Ds into the latest “sexy” cause. All well and good if it benefits people and families affected by Ds, but we should be able to have rational discussions about it without name calling. Fanatics disturb me, and it’s frightening to see how many of them are popping up around KH.

  12. anna
    April 16, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    What a ridiculous reaction to a book review! Ever heard of a the concept of a book review, KH groupies?!

    KH’s book is shallow, self-centered and tedious. Lisa wrote a review saying that much. End of story. That’s what book reviewers do. Get over it.

  13. Cathy
    April 17, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I wrote a reply to the original post last night and while I can’t speak for everyone, it was the comments that got under skin – not your initial post. It was disturbing to me how nasty people got. It’s one thing to dislike someone and their book, but it’s another to start putting them down in ways that would really hurt someone’s feelings. Sounds cheesy but I think you know what I mean, and if you read the comment I left, I think you’ll get where I’m coming from.

  14. Brooke
    May 9, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    Wow! Just wow. As a reader of Kelle Hampton’s blog, and while seeking out other blogs of mothers who have a child with Down Syndrome, I (sadly) came across this. How catty, to say the least.

    Have you ever stopped to think that terms “angry,” “bitter,” “jealous,” “sour grapes,” and “bully” are used because THAT IS EXACTLY WHAT COMES ACROSS? You harp on Kelle Hampton in more than one blog post, and yet you want readers to believe that you aren’t angry, bitter, jealous, etc. I call bullshit.

    Why the need to attack Kelle Hampton? And yes, that is exactly what you are doing, regardless of your feeble argument to the contrary. Why the need to basically call fraud on Nella’s birth story? Why the need to call her materialistic because she enjoys photography and dressing her kids up cute and doing crafts with them? Because she cares about her appearance? Her blog entries generally focus on the positive – what’s wrong with that? What is wrong with her sharing her personal life experiences with others? Sure other people may have it much harder than her, but other people have it much harder than you as well!

    Is it really a contest to see who has a worse situation? Are her thoughts any less valid because other people in the world have a much harder time than she does? Or years more experience with D.S. than she does?

    I just do not get what the point in all your ranting about Kelle Hampton is, other than jealousy and bitterness. Plain and simple. Your Kelle Hampton blogs do not convey anything else.

    Why not focus on your life, instead of griping about someone else’s? Kelle Hampton’s blog is as popular as it is because her blog is a joy to read. She doesn’t tear other people down in her blog. Her blog doesn’t leave you wondering how someone could be such a jerk. She’s the kind of person anyone would enjoy having a cup of coffee with. You come across as the kind of person who would tear someone down the second they were out of earshot.

    Good luck with your blog – you will certainly attract like-minded people. I just hope the rest of your potential audience won’t discover the Kelle Hampton rants first.

    • Lisa
      May 9, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      Another disciple! You clearly spent a great deal of energy ranting at me. Very passionate and heartfelt. So, you’re obviously bitter, angry, and jealous of me. right? Thanks for stopping by :)

    • Chloe
      July 27, 2012 at 4:12 am #

      “Feeble argument”? It is called OPINION.

      Who died and made you a Supreme Court Justice?

      Just askin’…yikes.

  15. Kelly C
    June 9, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    What I don’t understand is how a book review turned into a judgement of someone’s life???? I’m not a “follower” of Kelle Hampton. I’ve only skimmed her blog and read the book because I like her photography. The book review you posted turned into a paparazzi like breakdown of a person. that’s kinda disgusting.

  16. Kerryn
    June 13, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Seems to me that Kelle Hampton is just an optimistic person and having a child with Downs Syndrome hasn’t changed that. And, while I haven’t read her book, it sounds like she is upfront with her thoughts of writing a book from the beginning etc, so it doesn’t seem she’s trying to hide anything. In any case, I will be adding your blog to my iGoogle feed just like I have done hers because I think that everyone deserves to be given the chance to be themselves online – optimist, realist or anywhere in between. I will say, though, that while in the past I might have felt there was a certain stigma attached to Downs, Kelle’s beautiful photography, not her words, are what have made me consider how happy a family can be even with Downs as part of it. I hope yours will do the same because that’s what the world needs.

  17. Mandy
    August 4, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    O.M.G.
    Amazeballs. I hate Kelle Hampton, aka The First and Only Mother to Have a Child with Down Syndrome, and this facade of rainbows and butterflies she crams down everyone’s throats so throngs of strangers will somehow redeem her “tarnished” life. Thank you for this.

    • Mandy
      August 4, 2012 at 1:25 am #

      Uh, also WTF is with her taking pictures of her damn f-ing feet all the time?

  18. me
    August 15, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I haven’t even read your review on Kelle’s book, nor am I a follower or anything of Kelle’s. I’ve only read her blog about the birth. That being said, I have to say exactly what you assumed people might say: You ARE jealous and bitter and everything you claim to not be. Let me ask you something; who REALLY CARES if Kelle, or anyone for that matter, is full of sunshine, whether you think it is fake or unnecessary or legit? Who REALLY CARES if she claims having her 2nd child changed her, whether you think you know she hasn’t changed, or she really has changed, etc??? (Do you even truly KNOW her to know she hasn’t changed? please.) WHO CARES how she became popular, & when she decided to write a book??? WHO REALLY CARES if people feel bad for her? Just because people don’t feel for you doesn’t mean they can’t feel for someone else with a child with Downs Syndrome. Do you want people to feel bad for you? Will that make you feel better? It is obvious that you DO in fact begrudge Kelle for her success and your lack of success, so do us a favor and omit the lame banner atop. You’re starving for that cheesy/popular front cover photo and it really sucks. It was the first thing I saw when I came to your blog & I laughed immediately. WHO CARES about the so-called materialism and vanity you think Kelle portrays? You do not know her to say she can or can’t be optimistic or should have been in the 1st place. You don’t know her to know what she has overcome or know her enough to say she hasn’t overcome anything!

    “There are people on this journey who are still so bitter and angry over their own circumstances that they can’t be happy for someone else.” This is very much true and this person probably didn’t want to waste time telling you to your face, because then they would have to deal with you, so there, I have balls & I am telling you this quote SHOULD BE directed at you!

    The passionate, emotional responses might be because everyone loves the way she writes and tells her story. Maybe that’s what it’s about. It’s disturbing to you because you’re sick and completely bitter.

    One more thing: Since probably no one sees you as a hero, that is no reason for you to be jealous of anyone that has several thousands of people considering them a hero. I mean really, I don’t know you but you are just miserable! SMILE!

    • Lisa
      August 16, 2012 at 12:08 am #

      I couldn’t even make it all the way through your rambling diatribe. It always cracks me up when someone finds my blog only because they Googled “Kelle Hampton,” and then feel it is their duty to lecture me on my views. One thought occurs to me: Do you feel better now that you got that out of your system?

  19. Katie
    August 21, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    What’s wrong with enjoying dressing up your girls in cute outfits and accessories? Or enjoying fashion? Hmmm….

  20. Crystal
    August 23, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    We like her because she is honest (I am a nurse, and have seen the emotional struggle women go through, but never have the strength to talk about in order to help them get to a place of peace and love – with any child. I don’t know firsthand how this feels, and you can hurl your comments at me for that, of you like)…and has an amazing talent for writing that can make you empathize. I didn’t read your review, and I probably won’t, purely based on your defensive tone in this quip. My advice is to be indifferent. Everyone has their own story – their own feelings – their own opinions…for you to “review” someone’s story, feelings, or opinions is a contradiction in the “open-minded” nature you claim to be teaching your children. Feelings are relative. Everything is relative. I’m glad you speak out, because you have an opinion, and it should be heard if you feel you need to say it; it’s just tacky to do so at the cost of someone else, or their family. That is not “open-minded”. That is hurtful.

  21. Ginger
    September 3, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Right on! I just wrote a personal review of Bloom for some friends and said the same thing. I think you’re right that people don’t get that when you write a MEMOIR you put your life out there, and not everyone is going to like that life. Duh.

    Here’s my take as mom who got a prebirth diagnosis of Tri21 8 weeks ago. There are BETTER memoirs out there. Better written (frankly Hampton is a crappy writer), better understanding of the emotions that come with this diagnosis, and better leading to good resources. I find it really disturbing that she kind of disdains support groups because frankly not all of us have 100 BEST FRIENDS EVA who totally desert our families to cuddle poor Kelle.

    And here’s the other thing….Kelle attracts people who want to take care of her because she acts helpless. I mean she was so proud that she survived two weeks away from her husband (which sucks but honey there are women in WAY worst places) and that’s kind of says a lot about her. She’s not a horrible person, no. But she is privileged in that kind of unaware way that drives me insane. I mean her biggest upset is that her baby needs GLASSES. Come on! There are people who are struggling through this children having cancer and heart surgery. some awareness of how very very lucky she is would go along way. Throughout the book I wanted to shake her and say “sweetheart please grow up. PLEASE.” I just can’t deal with women like this. It makes me crazy, and YES that is my issue but i get to say this because she made her life public. Period. No one foists fame upon you.

    And the reality is that this book is constantly being recommended to me. I’m glad I’ve never cared for her and choose to read other better memoirs first.This book would not have been encouraging in the early days of my diagnosis.

    I’m also glad I found this blog and With a Little Moxie, etc. Your voices are much closer to mine, but also they just feel a lot more real.

    • Lisa
      September 3, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, Ginger. Obviously, I agree with you :) And many congrats on your new baby!

  22. Stephanie
    September 8, 2012 at 5:02 am #

    Lisa, I do like Kelle’s blog -have for years- heck, I liked it before Nella was born! I have mixed thoughts about the Bloom book, but I’ve always preferred her photography more than her writing.

    I stumbled upon your blog post through a google search and don’t want to waste much more energy on this issue, except to say that I think it’s sad you wanted to re-post your book review to have an opportunity to cyber-bash Kelle -or anybody!

    I connect with Kelle’s blog because I want my children to live in a kind and beautiful world where people respect each other and whose actions speak louder than words. I’ll take rainbows and unicorns over bitter and jealous any day! I definitely won’t be back!

  23. Veronica
    September 9, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    I agree with Lisa’s review! I have not read the book but do follow KH blog on occasion. I enjoy the photo’s the most…find her writing to be a bit repetitive and boring. I think it is interesting she is pregnant again. I don’t know why I was shocked?! At any rate- I can’t think of any reason Lisa would be jealous of KH??? I have to say as an outsider I feel Lisa’s review was honest and right on. I remember thinking as I read the first pages of her blog– who really has this many friend’s that drop everything to comfort one in a crisis? I wasn’t jealous either, just thought it was strange. Oh well! Everyone is entitled to thinking her own thoughts. I enjoyed your review, Lisa. Thanks for saying what many might be thinking!

  24. Annie
    October 10, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    I will admit, I did google “Kelle Hampton” and this came up, along with another post from your old blog about her. I discovered Kelle’s blog a few weeks ago and really do love it. I have never seen your blog before – I will definitely return to read some more about your beautiful children (I read your piece about your experience with abuse – bravo to you for sharing your story).

    All in all, you have your opinion and you are absolutely free to express that. I can understand why you feel the way you do about Kelle’s blog and book – I personally enjoy her work, but I can absolutely see where you’re coming from. And I’m sure it’s not out of jealousy as you seem to have many followers and fans yourself. Some things we like, some things we don’t – we’re all human.

    However, the one thing that did bother me is that you have somewhat devalued Kelle’s experience, which was clearly quite traumatic. I haven’t had the worst life but I have many people who are close to me who have experienced awful things, including abuse, addictions etc. And when I read Nella’s birth story, I was so sympathetic and heartbroken for Kelle and her family in what they went through (as I am towards any family who would have to go through something like this). When you say “what has she overcome?,” it is clear what she has gone through a traumatic experience. Yes, many people have gone through awful, traumatic circumstances and have had it “much worse” than Kelle, but that shouldn’t take away from the fact that she experienced something that is worthy of overcoming and that she has come out with a positive attitude.

    Personally (this is not in relation to what you’ve written on the topic), it seems to me that her story has resonated with many people because of the fact that her idea that her life was going to be “picturesque” and “perfect” with her second baby girl was challenged the moment Nella was born (not to say that children with Down syndrome are anything but perfect, I am speaking specifically to Kelle’s descriptions of how she thought about things before Nella’s birth in her story).

    She may be putting on a facade, she may be milking her popularity for all it’s worth – I don’t personally think so, but we’re all entitled to think what we want. The point is that everyone goes through terrible things and we shouldn’t devalue those experiences because we or someone we know has gone through more than them.

    Thank you for offering up a different perspective, as many people agree with you and appreciate your eloquent words – and as they say, haters gonna hate.

  25. Maria
    November 12, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    Hi Lisa,

    To start off, I am not a fan of Kelle’s, nor have I read Bloom. Neither am I a native speaker, so pardon if this comment isn’t fluid to read.

    Annie said it very well in the comment above. I am also uncomfortable with how “you have somewhat devalued Kelle’s experience”, to use Annie’s words.

    I understand the struggles you’ve been through are different from mine, and Kelle’s are different from yours. But… if Kelle’s anxiety level both over life in general and over Nella’s diagnosis prompts her to push for positive to the exclusion of negative, then, heck, be it. She probably uses whatever tools she’s got to create and hold on to happiness – tools different to yours.

    And for that I applaud her. I don’t have to agree with her to be able to appreciate how hard she probably works to get happy and keep happy and guard happy, and when she loses happy, then start all over and get happy, keep happy and… you get the point.

    Well done for standing up for what you believe in. I am fairly certain both you and Kelle put a lot of effort into living the lives you are proud of.

  26. Lindsay
    November 14, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Seems to me that Lisa is expressing her right to state her opinion. When someone puts anything out for the public to read it is fair game for any type of attention. What are we, in second grade? Just because someone negatively criticizes another person does not automatically make them jealous or hateful, etc. Grow up. I found Kelle’s blog by accident while looking for information on another blog I follow. Just by skimming the first post alone I can say that my eyes hurt from them rolling so much. I find her to be obnoxiously annoying, and yes I did spend some time reading her posts. I personally won’t be going back to visit Kelle’s blog because it isn’t my style. Does that make me jealous? Um, no. Does that make me mean? Who the hell cares if it does. Good for Lisa for standing up for her opinion.

    • Jackie
      December 18, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      “When someone puts anything out for the public to read it is fair game for any type of attention.” Seems to me anyone not in agreement with Lisa is expressing their right to state their opinion about what she’s publicly written about as well.

  27. Suzanne
    November 17, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I started reading KH a few months after her birth story. I found her blog interesting at first. And then. I don’t know. I started reading her more for morbid curiosity. She lives in a very interesting bubble. One of her friends collapsed in the driveway when she heard Nella was born with DS? Is this real life? I know it’s shocking, but she was a healthy beautiful baby girl, what’s with the histrionics?! Have these people really never had anything happen to them in their entire lives? I have also never seen someone so enamored with “mamahood” before. It’s unsettling. It’s like all she wants to do is have babies (which I find interesting that she seems to infatalize her kids, dressing Nella in onesies with bare legs (she may be petite but she’s almost 3!) and not letting Lainey do anything ever) and is so enamored with having children. I think motherhood is beautiful but how about showing your daughters you have interests outside of wiping butts? Anyway, great blog. I will definitely keep reading.

  28. Kit
    December 16, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Your blog was mentioned on this forum about Kelle Hampton.

    http://getoffmyinternets.net/gomi-forum/mommy-bloggers/small-kelle-hampton-snark/page-39/

    I agree with your review about the book too. People gotta stop drinking the Kool Aid :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 746 other followers

