Rapunzel No More


Onto other parenting dilemmas: to snip or not to snip?  That has been a pressing question around these parts lately.  See, Lilah, age 4, has been pleading with me to cut her hair.  I’m not sure what’s behind it, but I suspect it has something to do with the tugging and pulling it takes to comb all the tangles out of her hair after I wash it.  I’ve been resistant to the idea of cutting her hair.  Except for snipping the very ends off about a year ago to even the bottom of her hair out, she’s never had her hair cut – so this is original baby hair!  And I admit that I’ve become – hell, her daddy has, too – somehow emotionally attached to her  most gorgeous golden curls cascading down her back.  Plus, she’s shown herself to be very fickle, and I’ve envisioned scenes of hysteria upon having her hair cut and then her changing her mind when it’s too late.

That said, I decided to swallow my own vicarious vanity today and give her what she wanted – a hair cut.

Before

After

Yeah, I think I’ll be keeping the hair.

So far she’s thrilled with it.

Boy, is Daddy going to be surprised.

2 Comments on “Rapunzel No More”

  1. diane
    February 1, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    I think the length is perfect, Lisa!

  2. Stephanie
    February 3, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    She looks adorable. My youngest daughter has hair that’s almost down to her behind, but because it’s curly doesn’t look nearly as long. It’s become quite the chore to keep it brushed and I so want to cut it but my hubs says no. I’m gonna have to get the scissors out some day when he’s at work.

Leave a Reply

