You Too Can Torture Your Kids, Preserve Your Sanity, and Increase Your Entertainment!


It all started as a joke on Facebook.  I was discussing the pros and cons of filing a report against that woman who hit my truck, and Michael said, “Babe, maybe we should have the kids fill out reports instead of tattling to us every five minutes. Let’s make it a house-law. Daisy will need extra forms of course.”  Funny guy, eh?  But it got me thinking . . .

And so was born The Complaint Box:

I made up some simple complaint forms on the ol’ computer, printed off a bunch and informed the offspring that heretofore, they will be required to put their complaints in written form and lodge them in The Complaint Box.  The first batch of forms was dispatched before the sun went down.  Here is a random sampling:

 

This is so Joey.

 

Of course, Kevin had to get in on the gig.  See, we hate his hair, and he hates Justin Bieber, so we keep hoping that if we tell him he looks like Justin Bieber, he will agree to a hair cut.

 

Translation: “Annabelle is making my house knock down because she is not letting me concentrate.”  Daisy is very good at expressing her emotions, as you can see.

 

Really, can you say “Bratty Boots” and not giggle?  Try it.

Translation: “It is not fair that Lilah has Play-Doh.  And I want to go to a restaurant right now.”  Ahhh, Annabelle.  As Mrs. Phillips would say, this is not your personal best!

Translation: Lilah would not get her feet off me.  Mad face!

 

Rilly rilly?

More emotions brought to you by Daisy.

A joint complaint.

You can make these handy complaint forms yourself!  Come on, you know you want to!

 

 

8 Comments on “You Too Can Torture Your Kids, Preserve Your Sanity, and Increase Your Entertainment!”

  1. Heather
    February 22, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    There must be something wrong with me because I absolutely loved reading the complaints from your little ones. You have to save these! (Well I guess you already did in a picture form!) I like this idea and then having a family meeting once a week to discuss how things could’ve been handled differently. Do you plan on continuing with the complaint box. I think you should add some of your own. “Daisy didn’t pick up her toys until after 3 requests (sad face, sad face, sad face).

  2. Taryl
    February 23, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    That’s pretty hilarious!

  3. Asha
    February 23, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    That is so cool! DH and I used to joke around to the kids, that if they want to complain, they should fill out the form RT-986012 \bgd. properly, or the complaint is invalid.
    You actually made that form!!

  4. Cinoda
    February 23, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    That is such a super idea! I agree with Heather 100% on everything.

  5. Alyson
    February 23, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    I love it!! Laughing so hard..we are on school break here so I think I may try this. Seriously if I hear one more time..” Moooooommm so and so did this,that or the other thing”

  6. Crittle
    February 24, 2011 at 3:31 am #

    Oh, this is so genius! And hilarious!

  7. Ashley
    February 25, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    This is hysterical. I especially love the angry eyebrows, and I cannot wait until the day I can do this with my own kids.

  8. Sam
    March 14, 2011 at 2:34 am #

    Priceless! Why didn’t I think of that when my kids where young? Thankfully 3 of them are (numerical) adults now and the other two mid teens!

Leave a Reply

