Strike One!


Little League is now officially in full swing! Joey’s first game was yesterday.

Doesn’t he look handsome in his uniform?  (Spoken like a true mom, I know.)

Unfortunately, the highlight of the event was this woman in the stands, a parent of one of the players.  She had three little girls with her and a toddler in a stroller.  The girls were being completely obnoxious, and the mom could not seem to get a handle on the situation.  The girls were running off, not listening to their mom, until finally she had enough and sternly told them to sit down and be quiet! At which point one of the little girls, a pretty, wide-eyed thing, brattily crossed her arms and told her mom, “I’m going to whine then!”  (She actually threatened her mom with whining!) At which point all three girls did, in fact, begin to whine incessantly.  “Baseball is booooooooooring!”  “You’re ruining everything, Mom!” “I don’t want to sit here!”  They could be heard saying.  Meanwhile, the mom hissed at them like a shrew, “Sit down and be quiet!  Not another peep out of you!”  And at one point, she grabbed one of the little girls by the arm and took her aside and gave her what looked like a very serious talking-to.  Still it didn’t stop.  The whining and complaining from the kids, the mom being one of those moms, all bitchy and yelly.  Finally, before the game was even half over, the mom said, through clenched teeth, “That’s it.  We’re leaving.  Let’s go, now!”  At which point she quickly began walking with the stroller out to the parking lot, and the little girls were all freaking out!  “NO! I DON’T WANT TO GO!  I WANT TO STAY!  I’LL BEHAVE!  I PROOOOOOOOMMMMMISSSSS!!!  YOU’RE MEEEEAAAAANNNNNN, MOMMY!!!”  But the mom was having none of it, and off they went, away.  Good riddance!

Don’t you hate scenes like that?  So uncomfortable!  Ugh.  Makes you glad it’s not your kids acting like complete shits, that it’s not you having to be Bitchy Shrew Mom.

. . . oh wait.  It was my kids.  And it was me.

Shame.  Embarrassment.  So mad that I didn’t get to stay to see Joey’s entire first game!  Very disappointed.  And also kind of pissed off that spanking one’s children in public is so frowned-upon.

Anyway.

6 Comments on “Strike One!”

  1. Asha
    March 5, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    Hugs! Maybe next time they will sit nicely?

  2. Stephanie
    March 5, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    oh god, sounds exactly like thein scene that played over and over again in my life today. It all started early at the dentist’s office as we made a scene of ourselves in what I’m sure the bitchy receptionist viewed as some type of white trash spectacle. And then there was the excruciating and infuriating trip to the mall. I can’t tell you how many times I hissed those same words under my breath.

    As I was reading this I was getting a tad frustrated bc I thought you were going to judge this poor woman but you pulled it out nicely. I really enjoyed, thanks 🙂

  3. Kristin
    March 5, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    Oh crap. I thought that you were talking about me for a minute. Hope that you get to see the next game in its entirety.

  4. Jennifer Varanini Sanchez
    March 5, 2011 at 4:20 am #

    Oh my gosh Lisa…you crack me up….so sorry!!! I soooooo understand!

  5. Heather
    March 5, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    I completely understand. Been there way too many times!

  6. mom of 2
    March 6, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    Too funny Lisa! I have been there many times too.

Leave a Reply

