More On Matters of Faith


One commenter on my last post said, “. . . those of us who are not Christians may actually be non-Christian by choice.”  For me personally, it hasn’t been a matter of choice.  I hold firmly that we do not choose what we believe.  Belief is like an emotion – it’s something deep inside you that you can’t control – just like you can’t choose who to love (or not to love), you can’t choose not to feel grief in the face of loss, you can’t choose not to feel glad when good things happen – I strongly believe that you also cannot choose to believe or not believe – in anything.  Knowing that there is no Santa Claus, knowing that Earth is actually spherical and not flat, you can’t choose to believe otherwise.  Yes, you can choose what information you will look at to come to your conclusions.  You can choose to repress or fake emotions.  You can choose to adhere to certain prescribed tenets.  You can certainly choose how your behavior and actions manifest your beliefs and emotions.  But you cannot choose what you believe, way down deep inside, in your heart and gut.

I did not choose to become atheist.  I spent my whole life being taught the Christian messages, periodically attending church (well into adulthood), praying, and believing.  Believing that the Bible is the literal word of God, that the events and people that populate the Bible were real, literal, actual events and people.  Believing that God was real, that he listened to my prayers and cared about me personally, and that if I did all the right things, God would walk beside me in life and reward me in the afterlife.

I always had questions and doubts, though.  It all seemed so far-fetched.    Adam and Eve but no dinosaurs (despite hard evidence of dinosaurs)?  People living for hundreds of years?  Rising from the dead?  Parting of seas?  Virgin birth?  Eternal paradise or eternal damnation and hellfire?  But I always squelched the questions and doubts.  Because if you have an analytical, intellectual mind, that’s what you have to do to be a Christian – you have to repress the doubts and questions that are inevitably raised.  Because when you get right down to it, there are no good answers.  You cannot use the Bible as evidence of itself (“The Bible is true because it says it’s true!”)  You have to chalk everything up to faith, which is very murky and not fact-based (“I feel God’s presence, I see evidence of God in the beauty of the world, and that’s enough for me.”), or, if all else fails, the old stand-by: “God works in mysterious ways.  It’s not for us humans to understand.” You feel guilty for entertaining the doubts and questions.  So you do your best to squelch the doubts, and you pray harder.

That’s how it was for me, anyway.  There came a time, however, when I decided to go out on a limb and allow myself to really entertain those doubts and questions I had.  After all, I figured, my faith would be so much more meaningful if it could stand up to rigorous analysis and doubt.  Plus, if there was a god, he gave me a mind to think and analyze and doubt with, right?  So I allowed myself to really give some weight to all those questions I had had for so long.  If God was good and merciful, then why is there so much suffering in the world – suffering that has nothing at all to do with man’s free-will?  Why does religion tear people apart instead of bringing people together?  Why is it that God’s powers seem to be limited to what humans can achieve (God can heal an ear infection or provide someone with a new job or intervene so that someone longing for a baby can get pregnant, but no amount of prayer will make a legless man’s limbs come back)?  Did all that stuff in the Bible really happen?  So someone who is good all their life still can’t get into Heaven unless they’re baptized?  What about little children who die and never had a say in whether they got baptized or not?  And even if someone is baptized and lives a good, honest life, they still can’t get into Heaven if they don’t voluntarily accept Jesus Christ as their savior?  So my dad was probably burning in Hell, then, because he was agnostic.  I lost a lot of sleep over that one.

I looked high and low, I searched my soul (which I believe in, by the way; of course everyone has an essence that makes them their own unique person.  I just don’t believe in a soul that survives the body), I agonized.  And there were no good answers anywhere.  And there was plenty of evidence everywhere that supported very non-divine explanations for things.  I just no longer had the ability to chalk it all up to God’s mystique.  If it were all true, it wouldn’t be so hard to understand!  If it were all true, it would be easily understandable by all, it would be hardwired into us (one friend recently said that she believes it is hardwired into us, but some of us choose to ignore it.  Well, Muslims believe everyone is born a Muslim, too.  And what about untouched civilizations living in the rainforest who have never had exposure to the notion of Jesus Christ?  Is it hardwired into them, too?)  If the Bible were the actual word of God, there wouldn’t be so many ways to interpret it!

My belief started breaking down.  The Bible part of it was kind of the kicker for me.  As a Christian, I was taught that the Bible is the actual word of God and that everything in it is the literal truth.  But there are so many interpretations – every major religion seems to interpret it a little differently.  Could that stuff really have happened?  If it did, why doesn’t stuff like that happen now?  The big dramatic miracles?  And once you start doubting the authenticity of the Bible, the literal truth of it, well, the whole foundation for your faith begins to crumble.

I resisted for a while.  It really was not an easy process.  I tried to talk myself back into my old beliefs.  And it just didn’t work.  Because, I found, I could not choose what to feel, what to believe.  What I could choose was the label I applied to myself.  I started with Agnostic, because that felt a little safer and less radical than Atheist.  But it really wasn’t long before I realized that I wasn’t being honest with myself.  I wasn’t Agnostic – it’s not that I was unsure.  In my heart, I was sure.  I just no longer believed any of that stuff.  And finally, I let go of it.  And chose to call myself Atheist, because that most accurately describes my state of belief.  I do not believe there is a god, I do not believe in Heaven or Hell, I do not believe in the divine or supernatural.  And once I was honest with myself, I felt a weight lifted.  All the agonizing and rationalizing and searching for answers and never being satisfied with the answers/non-answers – it was gone.  All the guilt and feeling like I could never measure up to what God wanted of me was gone.  And I felt at peace with it, and I still do.

That is not to say my life is any easier or better than it was before.  My faith or lack of faith has made absolutely no difference in the quality of my life – except to the extent that in some ways I am a social pariah because Atheism is just not socially acceptable.  (And I have a suspicion that there are many more non-believers out there than we realize – even sitting in church congregations – who remain quiet about their feelings because they don’t want to suffer the backlash of “coming out.”)  In some ways, I guess it has made things a little easier: there’s nobody to be angry at anymore for all the injustice in the world.  There’s nobody to appeal to – and potentially have my pleas rejected by – to make things right.  It is comforting to me, in a strange way, to know that the universe is random, life is random; I am not a pawn in anyone’s chess game.  And this is all I’ve got – this life, this brief life.  When I’m gone, I’m gone, so I better make the most of what I’ve got.  Love with everything I’ve got, be kind and honest and compassionate because that’s how I want to be treated.

So the only choice I’ve made is to apply the label Atheist to myself.  For me, becoming atheist has not been the adoption of new beliefs, it’s been the falling away of beliefs.  I have not joined some fringe organization that requires a conversion process.  I don’t belong to a group that has special rituals to demonstrate our beliefs.  There are no Atheist holidays to my knowledge.  I’m not an official member of some group that has plans to convert everyone and take over the world.  That would be weird!  Oh wait . . . never mind.

I can never be a Believer again.  The questions and doubts have already been cracked wide open for me, and there’s no undoing it.  And I’m fine with it.

25 Comments on “More On Matters of Faith”

  1. Wendy
    April 26, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    I sit and wonder what everyone is getting upset about. You have a right to raise your children the way you want. I raise my Children in the Catholic Faith by choice. Obviously, my children have few questions for me about religion because they are always surrounded by the Catholic Religion. My 9 year old did however ask me sometime ago, why her cousin doesn’t celebrate Christmas.. She is Jewish.. so I had my brother-in-law speak to her about his religion and why they do things differently. She thanked her Uncle and said, I love you Uncle Rick. But what I did tell her is to respect what other people choose to believe/or not to believe. That all she needs to be concerned with is what is in her heart not others. Diversity is all around us people.. learn about it, you may not have to like it/agree with it or understand it.. as long as you are OK with your soul that is all that matters. For all of the commenters who just don’t get it.. You don’t have too… it isn’t your place to get it.. If you are strong in your beliefs.. no one else’s will rattle you…

    • Jackie Mulholland
      April 26, 2011 at 4:10 am #

      Perfectly said Wendy!

    • Addie
      April 26, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      I love this comment!

      • Lisa
        April 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

        Which comment?

      • Addie
        April 26, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

        Wendy’s (the first comment)

  2. Megan
    April 26, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    Do you ever shut up? Three posts dedicated to why you are right and everyone else is wrong. I respect your rights to your own beliefs but why be so defensive??

    • Lisa
      April 26, 2011 at 3:01 am #

      Megan, perhaps you don’t understand the function of a blog? It’s a place where one is free to write about whatever strikes their fancy. I use my blog to write about what’s going on in my life and in my head. Faith/religion/atheism is a topic that holds a lot of interest for me. I write numerous posts about a lot of different topics – faith and religion is just one of those topics.

      Both times you have commented, you have been very hostile. First you told me that I make you sick because I’m not raising my children with the beliefs YOU think they should be raised with. Now you ask me if I ever shut up. You are not representing good Christians very well. Come on, you’re a better person that that, aren’t you? Do you really have nothing better to do than scout the internet for content you find offensive? There are lots and lots of blogs out there devoted to Christianity. I think you might be better served to follow blogs that express views in line with your own.

      I have absolutely no problem with dissenting opinions being expressed in the comments section of my blog. I enjoy engaging in discussion, and I often take something positive away from views expressed that differ from my own. I am not open to hostility or bashing, however. This is MY blog and I will write about the things that are meaningful to ME. You don’t have to read it if you don’t like it. I will not publish any more of your comments if they remain nasty.

    • Lisa
      April 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      Megan, I’ve trashed your latest comment. Your comments are no longer welcome here because you can’t seem to play nice. Good bye.

  3. Addie
    April 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Well, Ill openly (and hopefully respectfully) disagree with you about choosing what to believe…. I see alot of parents who “choose” to believe that they they have the most wonderfully behaved children only to find out that they are little hellions when their parents arent looking… no amount of talking will convince their parents otherwise…. 🙂

    I consider myself a very intellectual person – I graduated with a chemistry and I really dont accept anything without realizing it for myself (meaning I dont really believe other people most of the time)… Im a known trouble-maker in church – I think they probably groan when I walk in the door b/c they know Im going to ask “why do you believe this?” or “what really happened?” or even “what do you really believe?” – I ask the hard questions that will trip you up if you dont know what you believe…. and today’s church doesnt work like that – I agree with you on that – the church today is a sham and it makes me upset b/c if people really followed what Jesus was actually teaching (not this feel good crap thats being layed out), then they may not be so eager to follow (you know the whole “sell everything” and “you will suffer” – that kind of stuff doesnt sit well with Americanized “Christianity” and I dont really consider what the church teaches today, for the most part, true Christianity”

    I am a Christian…. but only b/c I have a relationship with God. We talk to each other – and yes, Ive heard Him speak… no, He doesnt give me everything that I want like some people teach…. having a relationship with Him is really hard alot of times b/c, well, honestly, it makes me look a bit crazy sometimes… ha ha, but Im ok with it (maybe I am a little crazy)…. so Im not going to say my “faith” is actually based on pure faith – b/c that would require me believing something that Ive never experienced, right? But my relationship is very real to me – even if it doesnt make sense to everyone else….

    And to be honest, I wonder if maybe that is what you were missing when you considered yourself a believer earlier in your life – yes, you believed in certain things, and had faith… but I dont ever see/read where you mention that you actually interacted with God – that you two were friends. (I hope that didnt come across disrespectfully) – maybe that was why you never felt fulfilled by it all – you were trusting in man-made stuff (that can be errant) instead of a real god – the kind that can make miracles happen (even grow limbs back if He wanted to, being God and all)

    Again… no disrespect intended… just explaining my side of the faith – and that not every “Christian” looks the same or goes on blind faith…. and yes, Im probably just crazy – and Im totally ok with that… 🙂

    (just for the record, I see dinosaurs in Genesis 6 personally)

    • Lisa
      April 26, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Addie, my post was about my personal experience, specifically. That’s how it happened for me, that’s how I landed where I’m at today.

      With all due respect, your comment seems to be still trying to convince me that perhaps I just wasn’t following the “right” path of Christianity.

      I am firm in my conviction that I never had a relationship with god because there is no god. And, there are plenty of religions that don’t at all believe that humans are supposed to have a “relationship” with god, because humans aren’t worthy. Every religion thinks they’re the “right” one.

      • Addie
        April 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

        What I meant was that if I were in your shoes and hadnt had an experience with God myself (like I do now), then I probably would agree with you… I can see where you are coming from – I am just wondering if you had had an experience with God personally, would you see things differently.

        yes, yes, I get that you dont believe in God, but lots of people dont believe in things until theyve actually experienced them…. thats all I was saying… nothing harmful intended

      • Lisa
        April 26, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

        Addie, no offense taken! Just trying to get you to understand that my convictions are as strong to means yours are
        to you, and that re-explaining things only feels like you’re trying to convince me. I don’t think I can be convinced. I’m fine with the open dialogue though 🙂

      • Lisa
        April 26, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

        Addie, for the sake of debate (because I’ve been thinking quite a bit this morning about your comments), I’m curious about your experience with God speaking to you. Was it in an actual, audible voice? Just in your head, or outside of yourself? Was there anyone else present who also heard it? Do you think that had you had a recorder handy, you could have recorded the voice? Why do you suppose God would speak directly to you, but not to everyone? Not even to everyone who devoutly follows him. Do you think God considers you special? Does he favor you for some reason? I’m not being sarcastic, I’m truly curious about your thoughts. Have you at all entertained the possibility that it was a figment of your imagination? Or are you convinced it was real because you really, really felt it was truly God speaking to you?

        See, I guess I need more than that. There actually were times during my time as a believer when I felt a special communion with God (one incident comes to mind in particular). Looking back now, though, I just think that people have emotional and chemical responses to things, they conjure up things that feel very real, but that doesn’t make it real.

        Anyway, I guess I don’t understand why believers are so concerned with MY state of belief. Why keep trying to convince me? If you (general you, not you specifically) are satisfied and fulfilled in your beliefs, why is it so hard to accept that someone who does not share your beliefs is just as satisfied and fulfilled in their beliefs?

      • Addie
        April 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

        – I hope this comment ends up in the right place and not on someone else’s where it makes no sense…

        Anyway, I guess I don’t understand why believers are so concerned with MY state of belief. Why keep trying to convince me?
        – Ill start off with this one… honestly, Im not concerned with your state – I find you a very intelligent person who can make up her own mind… I dont think there is really anything I can say or do that would convince you of my beliefs so Im not going to try… the only reason I posted is b/c you kind of came across as saying my beliefs were foolish and I didnt have any basis for believing in them – probably not really what you intended, but its just kind of how it came across – and maybe just to me… I just felt like I had to say “hey, all Christians are not the same – some of us really do try to live it out without badgering everyone else”… thats all

        Was it in an actual, audible voice? Just in your head, or outside of yourself? Was there anyone else present who also heard it? Do you think that had you had a recorder handy, you could have recorded the voice?
        – Im going to answer these questions all together… Yes, it was an actual voice… audible to anyone besides me? I dont know – I was the only one who heard it so I cant logically answer that… Mostly though, I hear God in my head – ha ha, not as bad/crazy as that sounds… but really I know what my own voice says and it aint mine… and yes, I get that that really does come across crazy, but since God and I are actually close friends, I do recognize His voice, His speech patterns, His tone – I know where it comes from (just like when you talk on the phone with your best friend, they dont have to tell you who they are b/c you know their voice)
        – now my latest audible hearing of God was Him singing… among the rain
        – He also “speaks” to me without using words… maybe you would call it intuition, but usually its just an innate direction to go in, but I can feel God all over it (again, if your best friend left you a sweet note on your car, you would know it was them without them having to sign their name, right?)
        – Do I think it could be recorded – I honestly dont know…

        Why do you suppose God would speak directly to you, but not to everyone? Not even to everyone who devoutly follows him. Do you think God considers you special? Does he favor you for some reason? I’m not being sarcastic, I’m truly curious about your thoughts. Have you at all entertained the possibility that it was a figment of your imagination? Or are you convinced it was real because you really, really felt it was truly God speaking to you?
        – no, I can honestly say that God does not think Im special or favor me – He tells me “no” alot more often than He does “yes”… and He gives me alot more trials than I wish for most of the time… 🙂
        – I dont think God speaks more to me than to anyone else… I just think alot of people arent listening… say for example, I always notice the puddles on the street when it rains and how gorgeous most of them are b/c they are usually reflecting something beautiful like painted store fronts or traffic lights, whereas most people just see a puddle…. the puddle is beautiful, but you only notice if you are looking for it – same with God, I think He is speaking all the time, but people arent listening (or maybe they dont recognize His voice b/c they dont really know Him – I dont know)
        – do I believe it was a figment of my imagination – no, even though I am well aware that I come across as crazy… the biggest reason is b/c God tells me to do things that I dont want or like to do, most of the time (and Im really selfish if Im being honest)… the things He speaks of/about are definitely not mine… even a hypnotist will tell you that they can only hypnotize a person to do things that the person would do anyway – it has to be of their own free will… but when God speaks, its different – it serves a different purpose

        Just for the record, I agree with this statement “I just think that people have emotional and chemical responses to things, they conjure up things that feel very real, but that doesn’t make it real” – I agree – we are humans and alot of our makeup consists of chemicals and hormones and everything needs to be in balance (I have a chemistry degree- Im a science geek)…. but I think there is a definite difference when you come into contact with something that is way out of yourself… I dont even know how to explain what Im saying, but you know how you meet someone and there is an instant connection? Its explainable, but its not… its kind of like that. You know when you come into contact with something real and something different, even if no one else around you has.

        Sorry, I feel like Ive been rambling so I just hope that I made some sort of sense here… the supernatural is always hard to define/explain in normal words – plus, Im just not that eloquent… but really, I do hope that answered your questions… if not, ask again, and Ill try my best to keep explaining… but like I said, this is just my experience – how I know whats real to me… not everyone has that, I get that, and thats ok…

      • Lisa
        April 27, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

        I won’t argue with you, Addie. What feels real to anyone is real to them. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Cheryl
    April 26, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    The Bible does mention dinosaurs.They are called behemoth,leviathan and dragons.The word dinosaur was not used until the 1800’s. In the book of Job behemoth is mentioned and is described as having a tail like a cedar tree. Leviathan is a sea dinosaur found in the books of Job,Psalms and Isaiah. The word dragon is found in the books of Deuteronomy,Nehemiah,Psalms,Isaiah,Jeremiah,Ezekiel,Micah and Malachi.

    • Lisa
      April 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

      Cheryl, the existence of dinoaurs is certainly not universally accepted among all Christians.

      • Addie
        April 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

        just b/c some Christians dont believe in dinosaurs (although Ive never met any of these people) doesnt mean that the whole of Christianity is wrong though

  5. christina
    April 26, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Megan, you clearly don’t respect her right to her own beliefs because if you did, you would not ask if she ever shuts up. It’s pretty comical that you have nothing better to do with your time than come on a blog and make comments like you “feel bad for her children” and it “makes you sick”. You can answer you’re own question on why she’s being so defensive on the topic. What if Lisa were to come on your blog, tell you she feels bad for your children and that you make her sick? I think a good Christian would not get so resentful and plain cruel in their words-all in the name of Christ. There is a tactful way to discuss the matter without personally attacking someone, and if you are incapable of doing so, click on that x on the top right.

    • Linda
      April 28, 2011 at 2:47 am #

      I was going to comment to Megan but once I got down to the end of the comments, Christina had already said what I had to say. The hostility aimed at Lisa on her own blog just makes me sad. And really? There was another comment from Megan, worse than the first one? : (

  6. Deb
    May 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    Lisa: I’d like to offer some non-Christian historical evidence that Jesus Christ is not a mythical person (as you refer to Him in your other blog); he really existed. There are several historical non-Biblical references by non-Christians verifying Jesus’ life and existence:
    1. Flavius Josephus, Antiquities of the Jews, XVII, 3.3, XX 9.1
    2. Publius Tacitus, Annals, XV,44
    3. Lucian of Samosata, The Death of Pregrine, 11-13
    4. Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus, The Lives of the Twelve Caesars, “Life of Claudius” 25.4, “Life of Nero,” 16.2
    5. Pliny the Younger, Letters to Trajan, X, 96, Epistles, X, 96
    6. The Talmud, Sanhedrin 106a-106b
    7. Thallus, Histories, III, and Phlegon, Chronicles quoted by Julius Africanus
    These are a few of the more popular ones. You should also consider the fact that the entire world’s calendar is based on His life (BC and AD). You can argue you don’t believe that He is the Messiah and loves you (yes, you personally, Lisa), but to say he is mythical is unfounded. In your defense, however, perhaps you don’t have the benefit of these other historical fact points.

    As for the existence of God, I too, like Addie, have a very close relationship with God, and yes, He talks to me and most people who will listen (no I’m not special or crazy, just open). In fact, He sent me here to you today to bring you this message; He put you in my heart and on my mind, so I Googled you and found your blog.

    It saddens me to read about your beliefs. Why? Because you are missing out. You are missing out in your life now, and certainly for eternity. I understand that you are “fine with it.” Why do I care? Let me explain it this way. You are a mom (I am too) … you want the best for your kids … you care for them … you watch out for them … you nurture them … you love them. This is the way of God as well (before you jump in and ask “why is there so much suffering on earth, then?”, let me finish). He wants the best for you, yes you Lisa, and because we Christians understand this, we work with God to help deliver His message. God does not force Himself upon us; it’s up to us to accept His love and His gift of salvation through Jesus. This is why Christians care about people; it’s a reflection of God’s love. I agree with you that a lot of man-made religion and interpretation is messed up; God’s plan, however, is not messed up. We live in a fallen world, and for now, we must deal with suffering, death, pain, sorrow, and deceit (Satan’s greatest tool).

    The authenticity of the Bible? Items taken out of context, like anything, can cause confusion and frustration. I’m not a Biblical scholar, but every time I learn something new in the Bible, I see more of the dots in the Bible connected … and more scientific evidence of its authenticity (the Star of Bethlehem, the Parting of the Red Sea, Sodom & Gomorra, Exodus guide, etc.). A closed mind and heart will not see or pursue these things – that is Satan’ will: to convince people God doesn’t exist, we don’t need Jesus, and we are all just fine.

    Miracles? They happen every day. You’ve had a tough life, tougher than most. I’ve had a tough life; we all have challenges … some more than others. It’s up to us to decide how to respond to them and how to respond to God. Some people shut the door on God thinking He has forgotten them or thinking He doesn’t exist. Many times, it’s simply easier that way. Some people praise Him for providing the opportunity to learn, grow, and become strengthened. There was a time in my life when I had hit bottom, and I was truly tested. God sent me a miracle, and it was only recently that I have begun to see the miracle and how to use it for His glory. Let me explain: I have no musical training, but God began sending me beautiful music that I spontaneously compose (71 songs so far). This began years ago, but only a few months ago did I realize that this music aligns to Biblical Scripture – this is no random fluke. I have created 3 music videos so far … please check them out on my YouTube channel: wogdeb. God has gifted you, too. I read your interviews and blog posts; you are a very talented writer. Once you recognize and accept that this gift is from God (and not of your own doing as Satan would have you believe), you will begin to see so much more of God’s wonderful, giving, loving plans for you.

    The bottom line is that God does love you, even if you reject Him. That is why He sent me to you today.

    Love, Aunt Deb

    • Lisa
      May 22, 2011 at 1:13 am #

      Sigh. Posts like this just make me weary. Don’t you have better things to do with your time than Google people and try to push your beliefs on them? I’m sorry, but I’m just not interested in checking all the references you’ve listed that supposedly prove Jesus’s existence. References certainly are not proof. There are plenty of references to Santa Claus, to Big Foot, to the Loch Ness Monster, and to the Tooth Fairy, but we all know, of course, that none of those actually exist. Maybe Jesus Christ really did exist! I’m only saying that nobody is sure. Proof of his existence would still certainly not prove all the Christian assertions about him, that he was the son of god, that he rose from the dead, that god exists, etc., etc. If there were proof of any of that, it would be called “fact” and not “faith.”

      I am happy with my life, I am fulfilled and grateful, and yet I do not believe in god. Why is it so hard for some of you to accept that? If you must believe that I am guided by Satan, then so be it.

      Several things in your comment have me wondering if you actually are my “Aunt Deb.” If you are, I have to say that I find it even more disturbing and offensive than I might if you were a complete, random stranger, knowing that over the years I have made efforts to establish a relationship with my Aunt Deb, and it was never really reciprocated. So if that’s who you are, and you are now only pursuing me in order to convince me of your beliefs, I find that highly disrespectful to me as a person. I also see that you have signed up as a follower of my blog. While I am flattered that anyone would want to continue reading what I write, if you only want to follow in order to proselytize, please don’t.

  7. Deb
    May 26, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Dear Lisa:
    Upon reflection, I realize my previous note to you was inappropriate, and I apologize for sending it. My goal was not to irritate you, and it was not intended to be disrespectful. We have no relationship, so it was not appropriate for me to engage in such a discussion; I was merely reacting to what I read in your blog. Albeit clumsy, I was sincerely trying to reach out to you.
    Aunt Deb

    • Lisa
      May 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      How could it possibly be inappropriate if God called you to do it? Do you really not see how ridiculous it all is? Rhetorical questions; no need to answer. This is exactly the kind of thing that makes certain Christians look like a pushy, self-righteous, sanctimonious lot who think they have
      a monopoly on the truth and the way everyone’s lives should
      be lived.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Is It Any Wonder? | Life As I Know It - May 26, 2011

    […] the many comments generated by my post a few weeks back, More On Matters of Faith, in which I attempted to explain in an honest and forthright manner how I lost my faith and came to […]

Leave a Reply

