The Death of Osama bin Laden


In a curious twist of coincidence, on the morning of September 11, 2001, as the Twin Towers were falling, I was on my way to the hospital to have surgery.  Nearly ten years later, when the news came in that Osama bin Laden had been killed, I was on my way to the hospital with my gravely ill husband.

As we drove to the ER last Sunday night, a friend texted me, asking if I had heard the news.  No, what news?  Osama bin Laden was killed, she replied.  Michael and I turned on the radio in the truck, where the news was confirmed.

Over the next day or so, lots of footage could be seen of a jubilant America – whooping and hollering, cheering, literally dancing in the streets.  Celebrating.  I was, and am, disturbed by this.

By all accounts, Osama bin Laden was an evil man who masterminded the 9/11 terrorist attacks and was responsible, directly and indirectly, for thousands of other deaths around the world, of both non-Muslims and Muslims alike.  Borne out of the events on 9/11 is a terrible war that has waged now for nearly a decade, with massive loss of life of military and civilians.

It is hard to argue with the fact that bin Laden needed to be taken down.  It was a necessary evil.  But it seems to me that the situation calls for somber respect and reflection of all that has been lost – not celebratory dancing in the streets.

6 Comments on “The Death of Osama bin Laden”

  1. Jennifer Varanini Sanchez
    May 5, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I so agree.

  2. diane
    May 5, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    Hubby had the news on while we were in bed the other night and I picked up a book to avoid the newscast, but not before seeing people dancing in the streets waving the American flag.

    Normally seeing a patriotic, united America brings joy to my heart – I love the country I live in, even tho I don’t always agree with the direction – but to know that they were celebrating the death of a single individual made me sick.

    I remember 9/11 and the days that follow very clearly. I remember seeing pictures of people in other countries cheering for the attack that was made on the US, and I remember being sad that we have so many enemies out there. Then, to see our own people celebrate in the same way?? I just ask myself, how can we be so hateful? so forgetful? and so stupid to think that this is over just because we have killed the man who claimed responsibility for the 9/11 attacks.

    This is far from over … if anything, we have just given them new reason to hate us.

  3. Julia Matthews
    May 5, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I agree too – I thought it was just me. It just doesn’t seem like something to ‘party’ over, not the least because of the increased threat of retribution!

    Too funny – I was in the hospital on the day of 9/11 too!

  4. starrlife
    May 5, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

    I too agree- some folks/groups and individuals offered up a moment of reflection instead. More longlasting and meaningful in my opinion. PS- so happy to hear that your husband is heading in the right direction and home. hugs for support.

  5. Wendy
    May 6, 2011 at 1:20 am #

    Do you remember the video of the Muslims rejoicing on 9/11 and burning American Flags… It makes me sick to think that the man behind that horrible day, was laid to rest the way he was. He deserved no more then those he killed. I lost (2) family members and many collegues that day. Yes, my heart was rejoicing but it will never bring them back. Being from New York orginally and experiencing 9/11 first hand.. it has been a cloud for 10 years over the city.. walking by where the World Trade Centers where and seeing nothing, remembering those who died in that very spot, those who jumped from the building because they where panic stricken and did not want to burn.. Hell yes, if that is how people want to react to this man no longer being on this earth.. That is fine with me.. I will not judge them…

  6. Ashley
    May 7, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    I’m glad to see a few other people were also bothered by the celebratory actions of so many Americans. How quickly we pointed out the inhumanity of those who danced in the streets the day the towers fell, how swiftly we judged those people to be intolerant, ignorant hate-mongers . . . yet how quickly so many here behaved in exactly the same manner. I found it disturbing, disappointing and a not so subtle reminder that humans are very much equal, no matter their culture or upbringing.

Leave a Reply

