The Sky is Falling! The Sky is Falling!


I’ve been seeing these big ads adorning the sides of buses around town for a while.  I haven’t given them much thought, and assumed they were advertising some upcoming blockbuster action movie (no, I’m serious).  The other day I was stopped at a gas station putting gas in my truck and another one of these bus ads passed through my line of vision.  I don’t know what made me take note this time, but I decided to investigate a little.  I pulled out my handy iPhone and did a quick Google search.  Silly me!  I thought it was advertising the next big action flic, but it’s actually warning us all of The Rapture!  Which is slated to take place just a couple of short days from now!

I can’t help but wonder how many people are buying into this.  I mean, I know plenty of Christians on a personal basis.  Are there people I know who are actually planning for Judgment Day to take place this weekend?  I’m sure there isn’t an unanimous consensus on this whole thing, even among Believers.  So do the Christians who are not buying into this see themselves as more rational and reasonable than the folks who have set aside their weekend plans (and I assume all future plans, right?) for The Rapture?

More than anything, these bus ads – and apparently billboards and other large-scale advertisements across the country – make me angry.  That’s right, angry.  You know, I could respect humble faith.  Little clapboard churches, quiet prayer, noble good deeds that didn’t ask for anything in return, including accolades.  But this loud, arrogant, vain, bigoted, intrusive, nosy faith?  I find it appalling and offensive.  These ads – as well as the gargantuan, gaudy monstrosities that pass for churches nowadays and the two-story-tall banners hanging along main streets proclaiming “JESUS LIVES!” – are a blight on the neighborhood.  Why must I endlessly be subjected involuntarily to your beliefs?

It’s appalling to me that our public transportation system would even take part in such a religiously slanted ad campaign.  But as Michael pointed out to me, the public transportation system is government-owned, which means they have some real First Amendment issues on their hands when faced with requests such as these.  Refusing would be a violation of the Constitution.  Man, what I wouldn’t give for a few tens-of-thousands of dollars to take out my own ad campaign.

This is fear-mongering and propaganda at its best.  It’s religious terrorism, and terrorism that my kids are exposed to just by virtue of living in a regular ol’ suburb of the United States of America.

CRY MIGHTILY UNTO THE LORD!  FOR HE IS COMING!

People have been predicting the exact date of the end of the world for centuries (okay, I know “The Rapture” is not the end of the world; the end of the world is apparently scheduled for either October 21, 2011, or December 12, 2011 – so you’ve still got some time, people), and, well, obviously they’ve always been wrong.  I have no doubt that this weekend will pass uneventfully (at least supernaturally speaking), and then what will the folks behind these ad campaigns be saying?  I also have no doubt that eventually, the end of the world will come.  But it will be at the hands of humankind’s greed and violence and utter failure to live and to treat each other the way that mythical figure Jesus Christ taught.

, , ,

26 Comments on “The Sky is Falling! The Sky is Falling!”

  1. Nika
    May 19, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    On Saturday I am going to the neighbors’ house to get their stuff (they are crazy religious, so they will be raptured, I am sure). Hope they have some nice cooking-ware.
    I will be so disappointed, if they are still there!
    Also, since all the dead peeps will rise from the dead, I need to go get some good zombie guns.
    It’s all good!

  2. Addie
    May 19, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    not sure any Bible-believing Christians would believe the rapture is coming this weekend as the Bible says no one but God the Father knows that kind of stuff…

    As a Christian, I am right there with you on the big huge mega-churches and things of that nature… I dont think that is what Jesus taught – He pretty much said sell everything you have, take of the poor, and spread the Word… thats it, He never pushed/forced/yelled at anyone for not believing Him…

    • Lisa
      May 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      So, Addie, what do you make of these people who think Judgment Day is coming this weekend? Misguided? Crackpots? Charlatans? My impression is that they believe their interpretation of the bible just as strongly as you do yours.

      • Wendy
        May 20, 2011 at 1:03 am #

        Christians… is just the umbrella for different Religious beliefs and interpretations of the bible.. Methodist, Catholics, Presbyterian etc. The above interpret the bible and their words differently one thing we do agree on is Jesus is the sone of god .. just as many things. Some people think they are stylish and their homes are nicely decorated.. not all would agree. Some people think they know everything there is.. Many refer to them as a “Jake of All Trades” “Master of known”.. Interpretation is different for everyone. We could read or look at the same thing and have a different opinion. When it comes to interpretation.. how could there ever be a right or wrong answer.

      • Lisa
        May 20, 2011 at 4:38 am #

        The thing is though, Wendy, that Christians all believe that the bible is the literal word of God. Isn’t it funny that such an ultimate truth would be so open to widely different interpretations, and that there is such disagreement, even among Believers, as to what it all really means?

      • Wendy
        May 20, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

        Again.. Just because the word is written doesn’t mean we are all going to interpret it the same. I am in a book club and we all read the same book and interpret it differently.. We have read biographies of people and discussed different views. This may be off topic but interpretation is what I am trying to analyze. Many people look at the President as an African American man.. However, he is a bi-racial man (White and Black).. how people interpret his race is what they see.. he looks black.. but that is not the facts. Even the truth can be interpreted different.

      • Lisa
        May 20, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

        With all due respect, you Believers who come over here say all the predictable things that Believers say about interpretation, etc. And yet, the Bible is supposedly The Truth, the literal word of God. I’m sorry, but I find this laughable. If there were a God, and if he dictated a book that was supposed to be the One Truth for all mankind, it seems to me that it would be crystal clear in its meaning to everyone. Of course the bible is open to a million different interpretations! It was written by men, and it’s a work of fiction.

      • Wendy
        May 20, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

        Somewhat confused by the statement “you believers come over here”.. what does that mean. Do you mean respond to your blog? Because as “laughable” as it may be, it seems that most of your followers comment the most on your interpretation of religion and what you don’t believe in. We could go back and forth.. I have my beliefs and you have yours. I don’t need you to understand why I believe in what I believe in. Just as I don’t need to understand why you believe in what you do. What we need to do is just respect each other’s beliefs. There are many things that you write on your blog I don’t agree with and have find “different”.. “parenting”, “life”, “religion”… but that is what makes us different and I enjoy different peoples views on things, but by no means does it sway how I live my life.

      • Lisa
        May 20, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

        Yes, religion is certainly a controversial topic. It’s not at all surprising that the things I write about religion seem to elicit the most comments. There are a number of well-known topics that are supposed to not be discussed in mixed company because of their provocative nature – politics is another. I’m sure if I wrote about politics, it would elicit a lot of responses as well.

        I write to express myself, Wendy. I don’t ask that everyone agree with me, and I publish all comments – even the ones that adamantly disagree with my views – unless they are blatantly offensive or combative. I think open discussion is healthy. I’ve published every one of your comments, despite the fact that it’s often seemed to me that you in fact do disagree with pretty much everything I write about, and I have no problem with that. I guess I just find it curious that you do keep coming back to my blog. We clearly don’t see eye-to-eye on very many matters, and it does seem that you only like to leave comments when you disagree. What do you get out of it? Wouldn’t a blog that is more in line with your own views suit you better?

    • Wendy
      May 20, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      Actually most of the time I comment is on religion and I am passionate about it. It seems that you are always going back to the same topic. (like you haven’t had enough of why we believe what we believe in) and I look at it as being somewhat taunting. (It would be the same if someone was speaking on DS and you didn’t agree.) Which is I am not a believer and in a sense stating that those of us who do believe are Crazy and have to convince you or show you facts as to why we believe what we do. But you being the smart one.. should of known that by DOING A BLOG there would be comments.. but I guess, you only want to hear the ones that you agree with.. well, that isn’t what blogging is all about. Maybe you should write in a journal where no one will disagree with you.

      Yes, there are many times, you come across as a know it all.. But, like you said it is your blog and you have a right. Yes, we are very different in the way we do things, but I do agree with you at times. I am intrigued as to why you respond the way you do to certain things and often chuckle as to your reasoning of why you think the way you do. You seem to be a RAW individual and your parenting style seems to be RAW maybe it is your past experiences. I by no means don’t like you because I don’t know you. I don’t wish you any bad, but it seems you will take a great thing and always add a negative spin too it.. Such as the school project your son did and you spoke of the elaborate ones the other kids had and how (in your view) your child was better because he did his on his own.. and yes, I have helped my child do projects before… or the time you took your son to the doctor and you where annoyed that the physician(recognized your son had DS) do you notice a person in a wheel chair or someone who is missing a arm? Yes, it is noticeable and there is nothing wrong with someone noticing it as long as they treat your child with respect. Or your blog about the word Retard.. I am sure throughout your life you have used this word and now it is the the word of Satan and all people who use it should be shot.. somewhat hypocritical if you ask me. Kind of like a person who has smoked for years and then quit but has the nerve to complain about someone smoking.. but because it affects them now it is a big deal. my favorite is you will sit and tell your son that there is no god but you will continue to let him believe that there is a Santa.. or as you said, let him figure it out on his own…I think you like to start controversy because if you didn’t you wouldn’t write the way you do. It seems as if you have issues with relationships whether it be with family or friends.. did you ever sit back and wonder if maybe some of the issues is with you and not always on another… But if there is ever a day that I need a laugh or to shake my head I will tune back into your blog. Don’t worry about monitoring my comments because I will never respond on your blog.. I have said what I needed to say.. but I wonder, will you publish this?

      • Lisa
        May 20, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

        Wow, look who’s got her britches all in an uproar! My goodness. Yeah, I’ll publish your comment. Why wouldn’t I? Let your words reflect on you, just as you say mine reflect on me.

        You’ve managed to put about a hundred words in my mouth that I NEVER said. You’ve also managed to twist a lot of things to suit yourself and your views. I have no problem with people disagreeing with me, Wendy, and I am fully aware that some of the things I write about are controversial and will certainly spark disagreement. I have absolutely no problem with that. What I do have a problem with is anyone using MY blog as a platform to push their own views. Go write your own blog for crying out loud! I certainly don’t go looking for other people’s blogs who I know write about things that I find disagreeable or upsetting, so I can’t figure out why anyone would. Do you just like to upset yourself? If all you come over here for is to have a good chuckle, well, then I’m glad to have entertained you!

        Do I think anyone who doesn’t believe what I believe crazy? Well, I certainly think that beliefs steeped in the supernatural are delusional. Do I think I’m better than you? I really don’t know. I certainly think I’m nicer than you!

        Goodbye, Wendy. I don’t feel that you’ve added anything constructive with any of the comments you’ve left here, and I truly think you’d serve yourself better to go find a blog that better suits your sensibilities. I won’t be publishing any more of your comments, if you so choose to leave them, because now you’ve just gotten nasty, in addition to way off topic.

  3. Addie
    May 19, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    *take care of the poor (not just take of them)

  4. Heather
    May 19, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/roy-speckhardt/rapture-fever_b_864299.html

    I wondered what this was. I’ve been seeing a few cartoon things about “The Rapture”.

    • Lisa
      May 19, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks for the link, Heather. Great article!

  5. PiedType
    May 19, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    It seems lots of folks here in Colorado are seizing on this as a good excuse for yet another party. Me, I don’t plan on doing anything of my own volition.

  6. Taryl
    May 20, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    It has no basis in sound biblical theology and is directly contradicted by several passages of scripture. Numerology and bad eschatology. Basic bible reading refutes this and all other date-based apolcalyptic prophesies.

    I’m about as devout as they come, and this is completely off the wall.

  7. Addie
    May 20, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Lisa, I dont think they are crazy… I just think maybe a little misguided – and I think they will be a bit disappointed come Sunday morning…

    as far as the Bible being interpreted in so many ways? We are human, its what we do… can you name anything that isnt interpreted a million different ways

    • Lisa
      May 20, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      Addie, I don’t mean any disrespect, but really? You think this guy is a little misguided (as well as the many, many people he’s gotten to follow him and invest their money in this ad campaign), but you’re pretty sure that you are not misguided? Don’t you think that seems a little arrogant? how do you know you’re not misguided? You realize that most people who might be told that you believe you hear God talking to you – that you hear his actual voice, and recognize his intonations, etc., might think you’re a little misguided? How do you decide who is misguided and who isn’t?

  8. Asha
    May 20, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    LOL! I heard it first here! I am so un-informed!

  9. Addie
    May 20, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Im not sure how you come to the conclusion that Im arrogant when I have a belief in something… I dont know of anyone who doesnt have a belief in something(including yourself)…. but no, I dont consider myself arrogant – I dont go around telling everyone that doesnt believe what I believe that they are wrong or foolish… I believe that everyone is entitled to their own beliefs.

    I believe this guy is misguided b/c I think he will be proven wrong on Sunday morning… I have not been proven wrong – with at least not enough evidence for me to believe it – to believe that I am misguided

    • Lisa
      May 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

      Addie, I’m not calling you arrogant for believing whatever you believe. I’m merely posing the question: do you not think it arrogant to deem someone else “misguided,” thereby implying that you are NOT misguided. In other words, pretty much saying that your beliefs are superior or truer than what’s-his-name’s. And for what it’s worth, I’ll go ahead and say that I think the whole lot of you Believers are misguided, so that probably makes me arrogant. I can live with that.

  10. Addie
    May 20, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Lisa, I never claimed to have all the answers, and I apologize if I came across that way, that was never my intention…

    My say is not the “end all, be all”… so who I deem “misguided” may not be – heck, the rapture may happen tomorrow and then we would all be up a creek, right?

  11. Rachael
    May 21, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I want to be a fly on the wall in Mr. Camping’s church come Sunday morning. Knowing that no one knows the day or the hour, I think it’s a great comedy show.

    Asha, you made me laugh. I know you’ve got a bunch like me, but at the same time, watch the news a little now and then. lol

    And Lisa, why is it that you’re so angry when it comes to Jesus Christ being advertised? There has to be an underlying reason for it. I know you don’t believe in Jesus any longer or heaven or hell, but I am curious to know why. I’m not talking about emotional reasons or feelings; I’m talking about hard scientific proof as to why you think He’s a mythological figure.

    • Lisa
      May 22, 2011 at 12:55 am #

      Rachael, I explained as best as I could how I came to abandon religion and the notion of God here: https://lisamorguess.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=345&action=edit . It is completely unreasonable for you to ask me to show “hard scientific proof” as to why I think he’s a mythological figure. The burden of proof is on you, the believer, to show that he was/is real. It’s like me holding out my empty hand to you and telling you that in my empty hand is an orange, and then telling you to prove that there isn’t an orange in my hand. Of course the burden of proof would be on me, not you. I do not know if Jesus Christ was actually a real person. To my admittedly somewhat limited knowledge, there is absolutely no forensic or archaeological evidence of his existence. You cannot hold the bible out as evidence of itself. Do you think it’s true because the bible says it’s true? That doesn’t work for me because I wholly believe that the bible is a work of fiction. Even if Jesus Christ did live and breathe at some point in history, it certainly cannot be proven that he was the son of god, that he rose from the dead, that god exists, or a thousand other things the bible purports.

      Why does all the advertising about Jesus make me angry? Because it’s intrusive and in-your-face. I don’t believe, I don’t want any of that in my life, and yet I cannot get away from it. I find it offensive. There is a certain sector of believers who cannot “live and let live,” who cannot leave well enough alone, who cannot accept that not everybody shares their beliefs. They believe it their duty – and their right! – to intrude on me by endlessly trying to convince me that their way is the right way. How would you feel if blatantly atheist institutions were popping up all over your town, and atheists were going door-to-door handing you literature and trying to convince you to see things their way, and there were billboards and bus ads and entire television networks devoted to atheism? You might feel offended and even angry too, because it’s not something you would be voluntarily subjecting yourself to.

      You know, I’ve never, ever gone to someone else’s blog who writes about their Christian beliefs, or to someone else’s facebook page where they post blatantly Christian messages, and disputed what they’ve written or used it as a platform to share my disagreeing views. But Christians generally don’t have any qualms, it seems, about using any forum available to push their beliefs.

  12. Rachael
    May 22, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I’d like to read that, but it takes me to a login page.

    • Lisa
      May 23, 2011 at 12:46 am #

      Sorry about that. You can find it, it’s the post from a few weeks back titled More On Matters of Faith.

Leave a Reply

