Eighth Grade Grad


It honestly feels like such a recent milestone, dropping Kevin off on his very first day of preschool.  I remember being so worried that he would struggle against being left by me with a roomful of unknown kids and teachers in an unfamiliar setting.  I braced myself for his tears and imagined him attaching himself to my leg and begging me not to leave him.

It didn’t play out that way at all.  I took him into his new classroom where he happily scurried away from me, curious and ready to jump right in and explore, apparently seeing it as a new adventure.  I quickly left before he could see me lose my composure, and went out to my truck and cried my eyes out.  My baby!  So grown up.  I think that was the first time it hit me that from the moment they leave the womb, it’s a constant separating by degrees – separating of mothers and their babies.  That’s what raising children is really about: teaching them, loving them utterly, providing for them, and watching them leave you by slow degrees.

Yesterday Kevin, that little preschooler, graduated from eighth grade.  Oh, I know it’s only eighth grade – it’s not as big as his high school graduation will be or (god willing) his college graduation, but it was huge for this mother.

It’s all tangled up with love and pride and the realization that time is short; he now embarks on the last leg of his journey as a child.

Before receiving his diploma, Kevin and a number of classmates were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society, which required that they have a GPA of 3.50 or above, good citizenship, and the fulfillment of community service hours.

Shaking hands with the Principal

Clowning with friends

Help! I'm being swallowed by an emotional, mom-shaped creature!

***

Back at home . . .

And so we celebrate another passage.  Kevin is now officially a high school freshman; he starts a summer school class bright and early Monday morning to get a jump-start.

My heart runneth over.

3 Comments on “Eighth Grade Grad”

  1. Addie
    June 17, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Congratulations to Kevin!

  2. christina
    June 20, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    congrats kevin! I feel your pain mama =(

  3. Stacey
    June 20, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    (((hugs)))

    You’re doing a great job, Lisa! Congrats to Kevin, and what a lucky guy to get a laptop for a grad gift.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

