So, here’s what happened.


It was an ordinary summer day.  We took the kids to the park – and got this great footage of Finn navigating the stairs on the playset (what a superstar!) –

– and had a lovely picnic lunch.  Then we loaded the kids up in the trusty ol’ Expedition to go home.  When we pulled up to the house –

Wait.  Let me preface this by saying that Finn sits in the middle row in a carseat, still rear-facing.  That’s right, three years old and still rear-facing.  He’s a peanut, and he ain’t complaining, so.

Anyway, we pulled up to the house and the kids began the usual melee to get out of their seats and out of the truck – pushing, piling on one another, and so forth.  Somehow Finn’s foot got caught against the seat back next to him as it was being pushed down by the kids in order for those in the way-back third row to climb out, and his foot was somehow in this manner injured.  I didn’t see it happen, as I was still in the driver’s seat.  All I know is that Finn started WAILING, and continued to cry and scream when I got him into the house, and would not bear any weight on his left foot/leg.  It became clear pretty quickly, though I could see no swelling or visible injury, that we were going to have to make a visit to our home away from home, the ER.

I took Kevin and Lilah with me so they could explain to the doctors what happened, because they both apparently saw it happen, and I didn’t, and seriously, I was afraid of the whole thing looking fishy if I went by myself.  So, yeah, I took them for credibility.

The most awesome part was when they took us back into the x-ray room and the tech asked me – in front of my teenage son – “Any chance you’re pregnant?” Ummmm . . . well.  Most likely not, but I guess anything is possible, right?  then the tech asked me – in front of my teenage son – “When was the first day of your last period?”  Ummm . . . about a month ago.  Not quite.  I’m pretty sure I saw Kevin out of the corner of my eye trying as hard as he could to melt into the floor right then.

Anyway, all for safety because of the x-rays.  So Kevin helped hold Finn while Lilah and I went into the next room.

Long story short: x-rays were inconclusive, but based on his symptoms, they’re assuming a growth-plate fracture in his foot.  So they splinted him up and told me to keep him off his foot until he sees an orthopedist next week.  Right.  We’ll see how that goes.  And we leave for vacation in two days!  Yay.

3 Comments on “So, here’s what happened.”

  1. Stephanie
    July 21, 2011 at 3:34 am #

    OK, Lisa, you guys really got to stop all this. P.S. If Y breaks something, I’m blamin’ you 🙂

  2. Alyson
    July 21, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Ugh!!!!! I can totally understand how that would happen with the kids and the 3rd row..actually one of the things I am always saying when people are getting out of the Pilot ” watch Finn’s legs/ feet” obviously I have my own Finn..lol..my brain isn’t that fried yet;)
    So sorry mama and Finn:(

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Saga of Finn’s Foot | Life As I Know It - July 29, 2011

    […] days after Finn’s injury, we finally saw a pediatric orthopedist this afternoon (the same one who put Annabelle’s cast […]

Leave a Reply

