Published, Me


Have I ever confided in you, the world at large, that I have this aspiration, this . . . dream . . . of being a published writer?  Well, I do.  If you were to ask me what my passion is, writing would certainly be very near the top of my list.  But I usually feel ambivalent about saying outright, “I want to be a writer,” because, really, who doesn’t?  I have this sneaking suspicion that just about every blogger out there fancies him- or herself a bona fide writer, with fantasies of being discovered and seeing their name in bylines and on book covers.  And who am I but a harried stay-at-home mom with no college education, a lot of opinions and a good computer?  My point?  There are lots and lots of people out there who write, who write very well, and who write about compelling topics.  I’m a small fish in a big sea.

Still, I’m not going to just lie down and admit defeat without even trying.  So I occasionally submit things I write to different forums and venues.  And some of the things I’ve written have actually made it past the editors’ desks and into the public eye.  But this morning, to my surprise, I was greeted by an email notifying me that a piece I recently submitted was not only published, but that I will be paid for it (this is a first for me)!  How much I end up getting paid for it depends upon how much traffic the article gets, and that’s where you come in.  Please visit my article and pass a link onto your friends!   Feel free to share your thoughts with me, and maybe what I wrote will even encourage some meaningful thought and discussion among you and your circle of peeps.

Slow Suicide

Thanks so much for your support, you!

9 Comments on “Published, Me”

  1. Alyson
    August 9, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    I will read that article everyday and pass it on;)
    Congratulations! Some of your earliest writings after you had Finn still bring me to tears when I reread them. You have a talent for writing as though I were sitting next to you at Starbucks listening to you speak.

    • Heather
      August 10, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      I have to agree with Alyson. I loved the Finn writings. So real and raw. I have a blog but don’t have any interest in being published. I guess I would if I felt like writing was my thing but it isn’t. I blog for the memories since time is slipping faster and faster away (and so is my memory). But you have a real talent for writing and it wouldn’t surprise me to see your name on book covers. Congrats on this first (HUGE) step!

  2. Asha
    August 9, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    Awesome! That is a good article too, as is all your writing. Congrats!

  3. M Beers
    August 10, 2011 at 12:04 am #

    Congratulations! You are always thoughtful and thought provoking! Keep submitting!

  4. Stacey
    August 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    You know, I meant to comment when you first wrote that but never did. When I heard about Amy Winehouse, my first thought was, that doesn’t surprise me one bit, and my second thought was, I wonder what Lisa is going to write about this? I remembered that your ex had been a drug addict and you’re so right, it’s just a slow suicide. The actual cause of death might be listed as heart failure or accidental or whatever, but the real cause of death is a soul lost to addiction.

    And I’m also visiting every day, and I sent the link to some friends!

  5. christina
    August 10, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    I don’t have a blog. I just like to read them during my down time at work. Except your blog, I like reading it ALL the time. I anticipate every new entry. You definitely have a gift.

  6. L
    August 10, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    I read your blog ALL of the time. You’re an excellent writer. Best of luck to you in having your dreams come true.

    Also, b/c your gorgeous youngest has D.S., there is a new story on yahoo.com, about a young man with D.S. who has been kicked off of his high school football team, b/c he’s gotten too old. You should check it out:
    http://rivals.yahoo.com/highschool/blog/prep_rally/post/Player-with-Down-Syndrome-kicked-off-team-by-rig?urn=highschool-wp4452

  7. Lisa
    August 11, 2011 at 4:37 am #

    Thank you for all the kind words!

    @L – thanks for sharing that article. I read it and have some thoughts I’ll be sharing in a post soon . . .

  8. Stephanie
    August 12, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Congratulations! You’re a fantastic writer, Lisa. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

