Family History As Told By Joey


 

Joey, age 9, fourth grader, was required to write about how his family ended up in California.  Here’s what he wrote:

Family History

1938.  That was the year my dad’s grandparents decided to move to the U.S.  It was Anna (ONN-UH) and Ernst (RNST).  Anna was preganate with my Grandma Peggy.  They weren’t the only ones.  They were leaving cause of the Rise of Hitler.  Many people were leaving Germany.  But they were Jewish and the Jewish were being persecuted.

Their home in Zeisboard was being left behind.  First they moved to Amsterdam.  That was the capital of the Neatherlands.

They eventually got a ship.  Then they would finally begin their long breathtaking journey.  It as expected took a couple weeks to reach their destination.  The weather wasn’t ugly, nobody got sick, but the waves got pretty choppy and pretty harsh.  That must’ve slowed them down.  Just Anna, Ernst, and in a special way Peggy.  Fresh off Hitler, they would finally reach their destination.

Shortly after, on June 21, the beginning of summer 1938 Peggy was born.  They made it in a happy trip.  All 3 are unfortunately dead.  Ernst died in 1970.  Anna died in 1985.  Years later, Peggy died long after marrying Grandpa Joe in 2006.  Who knows?  Peggy wouldn’t exist if Anna and Ernst were killed in concentration camp.  It was great they lasted much longer.

My sister Annabelle was named after Anna.  My sister Lilah was named after Peggy (Lilah’s middle name).  Prooving we have love for these people.

Joe and Peggy had my dad.  But in the year 1990, my dad moved to California because of a girl.  I don’t know much about the girl, but when he met my mom it was a life saver.  In 2001, late 2001, my mom and dad got married, and they had me in 2002.  I am 9 years old.  I am the one that is writing this.  It began in the year 1938 . . .

***

I get a fresh bout of giggles every time I read this 😉

, ,

One Comment on “Family History As Told By Joey”

  1. Taco Goulooze
    September 15, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    Thanks! That made me smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

