31 for 21: Diversity


There are a couple of slogans, if you will, that I’ve seen floating around since I became immersed in the world of Down syndrome advocacy:

This one is very popular, and while I get the point, I’m not particularly a fan of it.  I know the message it’s trying to get across is “Hey, don’t be afraid of Down syndrome!  People with Down syndrome are people, too, just like you.”  And I’m down with that, I am.  But – and this harkens back to the very first time I saw it, so it’s not been the result of a lot of deep analysis on my part – what I really feel like it’s saying is “Alikeness, good.  Difference, bad.”  And to me, that misses the whole point of the message of tolerance and acceptance and compassion.

Here’s another one:

I like this one.  A lot.  It says to me, “I’m an original.  I’m unique.  I may be different from you in a lot of ways!  But I’m just as worthy as anyone else.  Take me as I am.”

Different isn’t bad.  It’s just different.  And diversity makes the world so much more of an interesting place, don’t you think?

, , , , ,

2 Comments on “31 for 21: Diversity”

  1. Heather
    October 15, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    I haven’t ever seen that second one but I love it! I have to agree on the first slogan. Morgan is quite different than her peers, but difference is good!
    xo

  2. elizamom
    October 29, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    I, too, get the point about people being people no matter their disability or genetics and I also can’t help but jump to it the idea that we are not all alike, too: http://myupside.wordpress.com/2011/10/25/31-for-21-just-like-you/.

Leave a Reply

