31 for 21: Coming Out With It


To tell, or not to tell, that’s always the big question in the beginning, isn’t it?  There are arguments to be made for both telling and not telling: what if something happens?  Then you’ve gotten everyone all riled up for nothing.  Or: well, if something happens, I’d sure like everyone to know what we’re dealing with so they can offer support.  I’ve always found myself in the latter camp.  Plus, I’m just kind of an open book.  I’m not a big secret-keeper, and I like to be able to talk openly about what’s going on in my little world.

So, out with it:

I’m pregnant.

I am 44 years old and knocked up.  Oh, believe me, I can’t believe it either.  But the proof is in the pudding.

We actually didn’t think it was possible, what with all the cancer treatment Michael went through two years ago (specifically, extensive pelvic radiation; apparently, though, that only affects fertility temporarily!  Who knew?!), plus my age – isn’t my fertility supposed to have plummeted by now?

So this was not in the cards for us, or we didn’t think it was.  Nope, those days were behind us.  And it wasn’t easy for me to make peace with closing that chapter of my life, but I did it, and for the last six months I’ve been enjoying the freedom of not being pregnant or nursing for the first time in ten years.

Mostly, I’m scared.  Did I mention I’m 44?  Or that we already have six kids (I swear, I shoulda been Catholic; I don’t think atheists usually tend to procreate so prolifically)?  There are a million and one things to worry about; it really feels like the odds are not in our favor for this to turn out well.  I’m well aware that it might not even last very long, but for the time being, I’m pregnant.

So, uh, yeah.

, ,

32 Comments on “31 for 21: Coming Out With It”

  1. Asha
    October 25, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    OMG YESS!!! I am so happy for you Lisa!!! Huge congrats!! I was hoping for another little bundle for you , I swear. My neighbor got pregnant at 44 and she now has a great 6 year old already. Congrats again!!!

  2. Lisa
    October 25, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    My first thought: CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

    My second thought: Hahahahahahahaahahaha.

    I’m just being honest 😉

    • Lisa
      October 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      Lisa, shut up.

      😉

  3. Grace Friese Robbins
    October 25, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    I read and enjoy your blog all the time and am SO excited! Secretly of course because I can’t wait to see a pro mom navigate a pregnancy “after” down syndrome. I think about it often, will the experience be different now? Even thought I am good with the diagnosis now, a year in, it still is a lot to take on and I am nervous to explore taking that risk again, but at the same time, realizing we have no control over any of our kids futures so what’s the difference right? I know, rambling, SORRY, just wanted to say CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Stacey
    October 25, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    Squeeeeeee!!!! OMG, I’m so excited for you! Congrats! We are totally & completely done so I have to live vicariously through others now, so thank you very much for accomodating me. 🙂

    And you’re not much older than I was with Weston (43) and it was pretty much a breeze. Sending you tons of sticky vibes & healthy baby wishes.

  5. Ksenia (@kcenia)
    October 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!! Yeah, BABY!!!!

  6. Jaida
    October 25, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    I TOTALLY thought this the second your FB posts were getting mysterious. How exciting!! Good thing you squeezed that mammo in 🙂

  7. Stacey
    October 25, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I just have to add that I’m mad at you for making me snort iced tea through my nose. I just saw the tag you added since I posted the first time: “things my husband has done to me.” OMG I can’t stop laughing at that even though it sounds so 1950s.

    • Lisa
      October 25, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Heh heh heh! I might come up with a few more . . .

  8. Crittle
    October 25, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    I kept reading and re-reading the first paragraph, like “is she saying what I think she’s saying?” you are the queen of the delayed punchline, so ya never know.

    CONGRATULATIONS! How far along?

    Now you’ll have to change your email address. Ha!

    • Lisa
      October 25, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Not very far at all, just a few weeks. And yeah, I know. I’m considering afuckinglottakids@gmail.com for my new email. Unless its taken already.

      • Caryn
        October 27, 2011 at 12:43 am #

        That is hilarious!!!!

  9. Kristi
    October 25, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Congrats!!! Woo hoo!!

  10. Jennifer Varanini Sanchez
    October 25, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    I’m totally JEALOUS!!!!! CONGRATS!!!!

  11. Ashly Heller
    October 26, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    Lisa,
    I have been following your blog since you were pregnant with Finn! I love reading them and will continue to read! Congrats!! So what if your 44!! Just when you think you have closed one door to open a new one something better comes along :o)

    Ashly

  12. Esther
    October 26, 2011 at 12:43 am #

    OMG Lisa!!! SUPER HUGE congratulations to you, Michael and the kids. I’m super excited for you! HH9M :-). You do well to come out early. I’m 18wks with #6 and still haven’t told my parents in fear of the fall-out.

  13. beth
    October 26, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    Wow! I am with your friend Lisa….first, congratulations! And then, HAHAHAHAHA!!!
    Amazing!

  14. Life After Grad School
    October 26, 2011 at 3:45 am #

    Congrats! Best wishes for a happy and healthy pregnancy!

  15. Laney
    October 26, 2011 at 3:54 am #

    I hope you kept some of the baby stuff. 😛

    We’re due in April with #6, so freaking scared and so excited.

    • Laney
      October 26, 2011 at 3:58 am #

      I just realized. You’re not going to fit in the truck. Welcome to the world of “you need to fit how many car seats in there?” 😉 It’s a very very narrow section of the dealership filled with very large vehicles.

      • Lisa
        October 26, 2011 at 4:15 am #

        Yeah, well, a new car isn’t in the budget. Not even a new used one. We’ve already figured that we’ll just have to take two cars if we go anywhere as a whole family.

    • Lisa
      October 26, 2011 at 4:13 am #

      Laney, I’ve gotten rid of just about everything as Finn has outgrown it – clothes, cloth diapers, infant carseat, bassinet, everything. Ally maternity clothes are long gone too. I really believed we were done.

  16. Addie
    October 26, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    oh my goodness, Lisa… congratulations!!!

  17. Asha
    October 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh, craigslist can solve the “we thought we were done” problem! That’s what we do, anyway.

  18. Anna
    October 26, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Ahhh! You and Michael kick ass! Let us know how to send you baby stuff.

  19. christina
    October 26, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    SO AWESOME TO HEAR SOME GOOD NEWS! CONGRATULATIONS!

  20. zsuzsi killeen
    October 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    How exciting, Lisa!
    Congratulations!!!

  21. Gretchen Gear
    October 27, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    Wahoo!!

    A 63 year old wanna-be Grandma in Oregon is celebrating your little miracle with you and Michael and your precious family. Congratulations to an awesome mommy 🙂

  22. Cheri
    October 28, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    Oh…… I love your news!!! Love it! Congratulations!!! 🙂

  23. Amy Heyde
    October 28, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Congrats!! Will you be coming back to pg.org? I knew you from the large board there! When are you due? Im 38 and due in June. Im so happy for you!

  24. Stephanie
    October 29, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    WOW WOW WOW! Congratulations, Lisa!

  25. Angie
    November 1, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    :O Congrats Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

