31 for 21: That’s a Wrap


I did it!  I blogged something every day during the month of October for Down syndrome awareness!  I feel pretty good about it; I feel like I touched on some topics that are important to me and my family, and I painted an honest picture of what it’s like to have a child with Down syndrome, at least for this mother and this family.

I hope the things I wrote about this month made a difference to someone.  I hope this window into our life with Finnian cleared up misconceptions for some people, broadened the minds of some people, and maybe alleviated some fears of some new mother out there facing a diagnosis of Down syndrome for her child.

I’d love to hear from you if I’ve changed how you think about Down syndrome.

, , , ,

2 Comments on “31 for 21: That’s a Wrap”

  1. Myrna
    November 2, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    I have learned so much from your blog Lisa. You have taught me to not look at those differently-abled than me as “different” but rather, they, like all of us are just who we are. And maybe I am the one who is “different”! Thank you

  2. jen
    November 2, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    I appreciated your posts. I tend to lurk at various blogs because I like to learn about different situations, viewpoints, experiences…. 31 for 21 is a crash course. I especially appreciated the stereotype/diversity discussion. It’s one area where I struggle, since I see both sides of some parts of the discussion. I understand both sides a little better now I think. Thank you for all you shared during October.

    Congrats on your newest journey as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

