How 2011 Added Up


The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 82,000 times in 2011. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 4 days for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

This is pretty cool, but this is how the year added up for my blog.  How did 2011 add up in real life?  Well, it was quite a year, full of ups and downs, turmoil and surprises.  My husband got very sick and almost died, my oldest child traveled to the other side of the country without us and later started high school, my second youngest started kindergarten, I felt like my children were leaving the nest too quickly and my heart broke a little.  My marriage was tested, I rediscovered the value of true friendship, we got rid of a dog, I got pregnant, and we adopted a new dog.   I’ve found myself at times in despair and at times swelling with hope and optimism.  It’s been a learning experience, and hopefully a growing experience.

Somehow in the midst of all this, I got to be 16 weeks pregnant.  The weeks are flying by, and I often forget I’m even pregnant.

I feel good – better, probably, than a 44-year-old woman should feel with her sixth pregnancy.  I have been feeling the faint stirrings of this new life within me, gradually growing stronger, and I am again aware of the magic of it all, and I am grateful.  Scared of what the future might hold, but grateful.

As I grow this baby and attempt to potty train both a toddler and a puppy, all the while still trying to keep all my ducks in a row, I am ready to move on to a new year, however arbitrary it is.  After all, tomorrow’s just another day, isn’t it?  But I’m hopeful.  For peace, and good health, and contentment, and yes, love.

A big thank you to everyone who takes a few minutes out of their day or week to read my humble blog; I appreciate you.

Happy New Year.

.

,

4 Comments on “How 2011 Added Up”

  1. Caryl Becker Phillips
    January 1, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    Happy New Year friend! You are loved!

  2. Monica
    January 1, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Eventful year of ups and downs. Here’s wishing you a year of more ups. You look great, BTW. My last pregnancy at 43 was mentally very rough, but in hindsight, think he’s an amazing addition to the family and great for John Michael. Finn will be an awesome big brother! Happy 2012!

  3. Asha
    January 1, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    I hope that your wishes do come true for this year. I am excited to follow another one of your pregnancies!!!

  4. mumofone
    January 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    According to WordPress I was the 3rd highest commenter in 2011!!
    I came for the awesome writing, the interesting stories and the need to read a blog that made me feel normal as a mother.
    I stayed for all the above PLUS the great internet friendship 🙂
    My very best wishes to you and your family for 2012!

Leave a Reply

