Tie-Breaker


Sugar and spice . . .  and probably generous helpings of mischief and stubbornness, too, if she’s anything like her sisters.

That’s right, we’re having a baby of the girl variety!  (That’s a shot of her girly bits above.)  Girls rule, boys drool!  No, seriously, already having three of each, we would be thrilled with either a boy or a girl.

Michael was discharged from the hospital yesterday morning in time to be with me at my ultrasound in the afternoon.  Everything looked good on the ultrasound.  Of course, I know full well that ultrasounds are not definitive, but I’m not looking for guarantees, just a reasonable assurance that it’s safe to go forward with a home birth.

No matter how many times I’ve done this already, it just doesn’t lose its magic – seeing an actual baby moving around in there, seeing its wee little parts: spine, ribs, hands, feet, little heart pumping away . . . the miracle of it all never ceases to leave me a little breathless.  And to think that at my age, my body can still do this!  I really, really feel like I’ve been bestowed a special gift.

And I feel great!  I’m expanding by the week, and loving it.  I feel her moving around in there more and more, and sometimes it’s like we’re communicating with each other.

My due date has been changed again, from June 15 to June 22.  Whatever; the baby will come when she’s ready.  Just as long as it’s not when my midwife is out of town early in June!

,

12 Comments on “Tie-Breaker”

  1. CJ
    February 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Love the boots!! Ok, so what are you going to name her?!?!?

    • Lisa
      February 1, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      I can’t tell! It’s a secret until the baby is born 🙂

  2. Kristi
    February 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    Congrats on another little girl!!!! YAY!!!!

    • Kristi
      February 1, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      And, I am very glad that Michael was able to be with you!!!!

  3. Jackie Britt Mulholland
    February 1, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    June 22 is a great day to have a baby…my birthday lol! I cant wait to hear her name, I love all your kids names! Congratulations!

  4. Ksenia (@kcenia)
    February 1, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!! YAY!!!!! 😀

  5. meriah
    February 1, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    woo-hoo! and you are looking good, mama!

  6. Caryl Becker Phillips
    February 2, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    you looook maaaahvvvelous!

  7. Asha
    February 2, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    Congrats on another little girl!!! You DO look great too!

  8. Amy
    February 2, 2012 at 4:27 am #

    Congrats Lisa! You look awesome!

  9. Amy
    February 2, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    Lisa, she’s going to be born on the 19th because she knows that’s my birthday. Happy for you, and you do look great!

  10. Stacey
    February 3, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    I’m going to lobby for June 21st; it is the Summer Solstice. I’m with you on not disclosing names, not because it’s a secret but because it never felt right to name someone I hadn’t met yet. You look great, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

