24 Weeks


I am now 24 weeks pregnant with this little chica.  How time flies.

 

I feel really good.  Tired, yes, but so far not overly so, and other than that, just really good.  I’ve always loved being pregnant (aside from the usual complaints of discomfort), and this time is no different.

It surprises even me.  I thought that at my advanced age, this would just be really hard.  But so far, it’s not.  And I thought I’d spend the entire time filled with worry and anxiety, but I actually feel pretty Zen about the whole thing.  I don’t know where this sense of peace comes from, since by nature I’m a worrier, a stress case. There are practical things to work out, and sometimes I worry about this little girl’s place in our family – the other three girls are all so close in age and such a unit; this one will be so much younger than them, so will she be left out?  And what will it be like for Finn to have a younger sibling who will (presumably) eventually pass him up developmentally? – but for the most part I feel really at peace with everything.  We will take it as it comes.

This is a gift, and I feel so lucky.

One Comment on “24 Weeks”

  1. Alyson
    March 6, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    Lisa you are absolutely gorgeous and glowing!! I can’t wait to ” meet” this new little lady and read your birth story( total sucker for HB stories,I always cry).
    She will be your girls’ baby sister that they will just dote on,she won’t feel left out. As far as her eventually presumably passing up Finn developmentally…just wait and see how amazing it will be for Finn to have a younger sibling. Cullen and my Finn are at about the same place right now in many ways but Finn just pushes Cullen to go further and I swear to something,the absolute best ” therapy” for Cullen. Believe it or not even at Finn’s young age ( 3 on 4/29), he definitely senses there is something different about Cullen and pushes him yet seems protective of him at the same time. Hard to explain but it’s pretty remarkable.

Leave a Reply

