It Was the Bottom of the Sixth . . .


I swear, anyone who thinks baseball – and particularly Little League baseball – is boring, well, I just couldn’t disagree more.  Today’s game between the Phillies and the Angels – wow!  What a game!

By the third inning, the score was 4 – 3 Phillies.  Then the Angels passed us up and we were down by three.  There were some bad calls by the umpire (who, it turns out was only 14 years old, poor kid), which resulted in some drama in the stands by an overzealous parent.  We gained two runs in the fifth but were still down by one.

Oh the suspense!  This is AA, and there is a six-inning limit with a drop dead time of two hours and fifteen minutes.

Time was running out.  In the top of the sixth inning, we handily got the Angels’ batters out one by one.

Then it was the bottom of the sixth.  We were still down by one run.  We had six minutes until the game would be called.  Joey was up to bat first.  Mothers were screaming and clutching at each other in the stands (okay, I was one of them).  He hit a single!  When the next batter was up, he stole second, and then third!  The next batter hit a double, bringing Joey home for the tying run!

In the very last minute – no kidding, the very last minute – we made the winning run.  I cried – I couldn’t help myself!  The boys were beaming!  My heart swelled with pride in all these boys who have worked so hard to come this far.

It seems like only yesterday I was biting my nails and willing Joey to swing and make contact with the ball back in Rookies.  Now, he’s full of confidence, and when he gets up to the plate, it never fails to put a hitch in my chest.

Man, I love that boy.  And I love this game!

, ,

3 Comments on “It Was the Bottom of the Sixth . . .”

  1. DS Class of 2008
    March 29, 2012 at 6:55 am #

    Sweet! Congratulations!

  2. the curtain raiser
    March 29, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    I love the game too. My son has played baseball for 12 years and it is never boring. We had the most amazing grand final two years ago with a thrilling finish with my son scoring the winning run and it all coming down to the ump’s call. It doesn’t get any better than that. Here’s to baseball mums and sons!

  3. Vonda
    March 29, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Yes that sounds extremely exciting, but ya wanna hear something even MORE exciting, at least a little bit more? My Noah is 12 (Ds) and he has been playing on the Challenger Baseball team since he was 5. A league made up of special needs kids. These leagues are all over the country. He thinks he is a professional, spitting, and adjusting his junk when he is up to bat. lol. I have chills just typing about it, because it’s amazing. He SO looks forward to baseball every year and takes it very seriously. Every week, BOTH TEAMS WIN!!! lol. I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’d be one of THOSE parents if his team lost and then I couldn’t stand for the other team to lose because I wouldn’t want those sweet kids to lose either…..so it’s all good. Finn would probably love it!!!

Leave a Reply

