In the Homestretch


As of yesterday, I’m 28 weeks pregnant and have officially entered the third and final trimester of this little adventure.  Every day I still find myself a little surprised that I’ve made it this far, considering all the feelings of foreboding I had throughout the first trimester.

The second trimester was very kind to me.  The nausea disappeared at about 14 weeks, right around the time I began feeling the first flutters of movement.  It’s been pretty uneventful (with the exception of the one trip to the ER for the mystery pain, which has never returned and remains a mystery), and uneventful in pregnancy is a very good thing.

I saw my midwife this morning and here’s how things are cooking up: I’ve gained 22 pounds, I’m measuring right on target, and my blood pressure has remained excellent (woo hoo!).  Baby Girl (yes, we have a name, but it remains a secret until she’s born – sorry) is very active.  It’s my favorite part of pregnancy, feeling all that movement, communing with her before she’s even born.  I’m having a nice, healthy pregnancy – not bad for an old gal like me, huh?

Overall I still feel really good, but my energy and stamina are beginning to wane.  Despite the usual discomforts like heartburn and backaches, I’m in no hurry for this to come to an end (sure, I say that now . . .).  It’s not that I don’t feel ready to add another baby to our brood, it’s mostly that I’m really just enjoying this a lot.  This is absolutely the last time I’m going to do this (no, really), and I want to savor every moment of it.

I’ve been thinking a lot about the birth.  I do have some anxiety about the pushing-a-baby-out-of-there part of it – I’m under no illusions, I know it’s gonna hurt.  I need to reread Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth for some inspiration.  Mostly I’ve been thinking about the atmosphere I’d like to have surrounding the birth, though.  I want a celebration.  I want champagne and birthday cake and laughter.  I want to go out of this whole childbearing thing on a high note, you know?

, ,

8 Comments on “In the Homestretch”

  1. Alyson
    April 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    Aww I love that you are savoring it all. So happy that it has been an uneventful pregnancy too. Really you look stunning.
    If you wear a princess crown after birthing this new little lady,I may not speak to you anymore 😉 I am very excited to hear her name and have wondered if it’s the girl’s name you liked when you were pregnant with Finn.

  2. starrlife
    April 1, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    You are so braver than me- I stopped at one! But I too really enjoyed being pregnant, I was actually surprised how much. But of course you are so practiced at this mother thing- I was a novice and completely unprepared. You do look great!

  3. DS Class of 2008
    April 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    High note. Safe note, HEALTHY note and regardless of the circumstances try your best to bring PEACE to the birth. It might be through inviting the most peaceful person you know to come visit you, cause it’s okay on that day if it’s not you. Cause sometimes it can’t be if mom has to do battle with someone who is annoying. 🙂

    Hugs and heartfelt happiness to you, you GOT THIS DONE.

    • DS Class of 2008
      April 2, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      And by annoying I mean someone not looking out for your and your daughters & family’s best interests.

  4. Kristi
    April 2, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    It is your time! You can have your birth however you want it!!! Congrats!

  5. TUC
    April 2, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    You. look. amazing. seriously. amazing.

    Doesn’t matter how many times you do it, there is always that moment when you contemplate exactly how it has to work and get a little freaked out. She will be a good girl, quick and easy 🙂

  6. Natural-NesterS
    April 5, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    I stumbled upon your old blog today.. and came here. This blessed my heart. I have no experience with DS children. I have actually taught for over five years and have never encountered one.. but I read blog after blog after blog of mommies with DS babies. I am so proud of your son… As a teacher I know how important it is to watch what we say- and I feel Mr. Teacher probably felt super bad. Thanks for sharing.. Your children are beautiful.

  7. Natural-NesterS
    April 5, 2012 at 3:14 am #

    You look great!! Congrats on the new addition.

Leave a Reply

