Leaps and Bounds


Finn has been making great strides in expressive language lately – it’s kind of blowing my mind a little.  Here are a couple of recent developments:

The other day he asked for a snack.  This consists of him saying “snack” to me.  This time, instead of just fetching a snack for him, I said, “Where’s your snack cup?” remembering that he had had an earlier snack and his snack cup was floating around the house somewhere.  He paused for just a second and said, “I’ll get it!”  I was positive I must not have heard him correctly, that it was only wishful thinking playing tricks on my imagination.  He scampered off, however, and came back a minute later, brandishing his snack cup and declaring, “There it is!”

Why is this so darned exciting?  Well, he’s stringing more words together to form short sentences, for one thing.  For another, he’s demonstrating a clear understanding of what I said to him, and responding appropriately, which goes not only to language, but to cognition as well.  I’ve long thought that he could understand way more than he’s able to communicate.

Apparently, later that afternoon, while I was out, he got into Kevin’s room and Kevin got irritated with him and gave him the boot.  Kevin reported to me that Finn went back a few minutes later and said, “Sorry, Kevin.”

The very next day, a fly got into the house and Kevin was chasing after it in the kitchen.  Finn said, “I see the fly!”  Sure enough, he pointed to right where it had landed.  Every time it flew off, Finn would go, “Where’s the fly?  I see the fly!  There it is!”

This kid blows me away.

, ,

5 Comments on “Leaps and Bounds”

  1. Laney
    June 5, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Once they take the big leap with speech, it seems like they’re saying something new every time you turn around. It’s amazing. And the funny thing is in a month you’ll be going “was he really only saying x, x, and x a few weeks ago?”

  2. Cheryl Tierney Kinne
    June 6, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    wow! that is so exciting. I’m so happy for Finn, and you guys. I love that he went back and said sorry too. Very sweet. I already feel like my Luke understands a lot, just can’t communicate back yet. This makes me happy to hear.

  3. Anna
    June 7, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

    I look forward to the first blog post by Finn!

  4. starrlife
    June 10, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    For Kayli it’s always been major lull followed by huge leap, fits and starts for all developmental progression. It’s so cool to observe and be part of isn’t it? Yeah Finn!

  5. Darla
    June 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    Finn gets more adorable every time I look at him. I love his beautiful full lips, perfect complexion, blond hair, beautiful eyes and long lashes. He just has a gorgeous lovable face.

    I fully believe he will have meaningful conversation and surpass this and I am actually starting to believe that he owes this in part to your not segregating him into certain programs but through full integration into the ample social life he has at home. Maybe the “much ado about nothing” approach is actually a detriment in some ways.

    Always thinking about you guys and all you’ve surpassed. I find you far more real and interesting and encouraging than others who have written books.

Leave a Reply

