38 Weeks: Is It All Downhill From Here?


That probably doesn’t look like a girl who’s not only sick with a nasty cold in the end stages of pregnancy, but who also suddenly feels scared.  It probably doesn’t look like a girl whose blood pressure has crept up to a level that is concerning her midwife enough so that she’s talking about encouraging this baby to come out and meet the world sooner rather than later.  It probably doesn’t look like a girl who’s dissolved into tears more than once today.

That’s the story, though.

Other than the cold, I feel fine, but my blood pressure, which has stayed beautifully under control up until now, has suddenly decided to play games with me.  I’m going in for a blood and urine workup Monday morning, and depending upon what that shows, my midwife may be coaxing labor within the next few days.  And I’m scared.  Because I don’t want to deal with an induction (even a “natural” one).  Because I don’t feel ready to have this baby (how crazy is that?).  Because I suddenly feel a little helpless, and am reminded how much of life is really out of my control.  Because, because, because.

Stay tuned . . . and think good thoughts for me, huh?

, , , ,

11 Comments on “38 Weeks: Is It All Downhill From Here?”

  1. Liz
    June 10, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    Definitely thinking good thoughts for you. I remember being scared after Cael. I had some crazy high blood pressure too around 36-38 weeks. I was fine in the end though- just some craziness that I needed to get rid of before being able to give birth to the next one.

    I had a great labor and birth with Soeren. He did have a nuchal hand and there was cussing and screaming involved, but it was beautiful. You will have that experience too. Trust yourself and your baby. It is going to be awesome!

  2. Cheryl Tierney Kinne
    June 10, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Oh, well despite all of that, you do look beautiful. I’m sorry your feeling nervous. I hope that all goes well Monday and you get to wait, good luck.

  3. Caryl Becker Phillips
    June 10, 2012 at 4:33 am #

    I love you! I am here for you every step of the way. I will help when the baby is born. I will babysit, cook, do laundry, whatever you need. Telling you not to be scared would be like telling you not to have the baby but just know you have people who love you and have your back!

  4. starrlife
    June 10, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    After having such a lovely few months of peaceful waiting it’s always exciting/scary to move into action mode. There’s this threshold crossed…. but I do think that you know all of this better than me who’s only braved one birth 🙂
    You are strong GF – you are going to do a beautiful taking care of yourself and that baby. Hugs and sending positive thoughts.

  5. Meriah
    June 10, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    You bet. Good thoughts your way!

  6. khamphouxay
    June 10, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    i’m just days behind you (and yet light years too as I’m only on baby #2) and my heart goes out to you. My bp started creeping at 32 weeks but since has gone way way down so I’m back to in the clear with my midwife for my (1st) homebirth.
    Thinking and sending positive thoughts your way. And hoping that you can somehow think your bp down before monday.
    As they say in Bali, Ohmmmmm Shanti!

  7. Therese
    June 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    Hi Lisa,

    I have been following your story for a number of months now. I have a delicious baby girl with DS. I just wanted to let you know that I have massive admiration at your courage and whole attitude throughout this pregnancy, you amaze me! I think it’s only natural to feel a little nervous now at this point. On top of your natural concerns don’t forget you’ll be getting a big old hormonal surge, which I know often gives me a wallop! Hang in there; you’ve done a terrific job so far!

  8. Samantha
    June 10, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    GOOD LUCK!!!
    Your a very strong women and you can do this!! Can’t wait to see what happens next!

  9. Darla
    June 11, 2012 at 1:16 am #

    Always wishing the best for you. Your baby is due on Ashton’s 3rd birthday. 3 years ago I was feeling the same way you are now and “the unknown” was very scary to me and I had to make my peace with it. ( I also had no testing despite great pressures as there is no way I would have terminated, so it was pointless) I’m hoping you don’t have any surprises, but if you do, I know you’ll eventually gather yourself and deal with it.

    You’ve been an inspiration to others with your candid, honest, “Life goes on” approach and I am betting you’ve even saved lives.

    Fate only determines so much of our path, you may not always get to choose whether or not you face a mountain, but you get to choose whether you scale it or become buried in the avalanche. You’ve made it look easy and normal, that’s a gift.

    • Lisa
      June 11, 2012 at 1:34 am #

      Thank you for the kind words, Darla! Good to hear from you – it’s been ages.

      • Darla
        June 15, 2012 at 11:52 pm #

        You’re so welcome Lisa! (((Hugs))) Still stalking your blog after all these years. lol

Leave a Reply

