Strange But True


Well, pregnancy is nothing if not unpredictable.

Today, my blood pressure is completely within healthy range.  My midwife and I have been in close contact via text and phone even though she’s been out-of-state for the last few days (she’s back now, as of tonight – I have a sneaking suspicion that she cut her trip short because of me, which I feel really shitty about, but she’ll never tell me if she really did or not), and she’s been having me really load up on protein and super-hydrate myself since yesterday morning, plus today I started taking my bp med on an empty stomach rather than with food.  Still, it’s hard to believe that those things alone brought my bp down from 169/75 (!!) yesterday to 124/62 today.  I’m not going to look a gift horse in the mouth, ya know?

I’m still going to go in tomorrow morning for blood and urine workups so she can get a baseline on me in case my bp goes up again.  Sigh.

Meanwhile, I feel like I’ve bought some time.  Hopefully I can kick this cold in the next few days and get through this last week of school for the kids before Baby Girl makes her debut.

Thanks to everyone for the kind words and positive thoughts, here and on Facebook – it really means a lot to me!

, , , ,

4 Comments on “Strange But True”

  1. Meriah
    June 11, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Glad it’s down, Lisa! Whew

  2. patti rice (@APerfectLily)
    June 11, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    checking in on you, as I’m off FB now. can’t wait to see baby pics !!

  3. Stacey
    June 11, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    You’ve been fighting a cold *and* still running five kids to & from school, along with being nervous about your midwife being gone? No wonder your BP went up. That’s a lot of stress. I hope you’re feeling better soon, take it easy these last few days.

  4. Alyson
    June 12, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    That is wonderful news!!! I am thinking she will appear on Sunday afternoon

Leave a Reply

