Baby Watch


Everywhere I go, people are starting to look at me as if I have a bomb strapped across my belly.  Geez.

Okay, so it’s true that I could blow pretty much at any moment.

Friends are starting to check in with me regularly to see if there’s any news.  It’s nice to be on everyone’s minds 🙂

So here’s what’s going on:

Not much.

My blood pressure is stable, and I’m mostly over this cold/flu I had.  The kids are done with school and home for summer break.  After not gaining any weight for a month or so, I suddenly packed on three pounds this last week, so now I’m right where I was at the end of all my other pregnancies.  My midwife doesn’t think she’s a very big baby, but none of mine have been very big (let me just say for the record that I pushed a 7 lb. 10 oz. baby out with no drugs, and then a 6 pound baby with no drugs – it feels exactly the same).  My midwife also has a theory that perhaps I just cook girls longer than I cook boys: all of my boys came before their due dates, and while the twins also came before their due date, I carried them a lot longer than anyone expected me to (2 days shy of 38 weeks), and Lilah was 9 days late.  I haven’t quite reached my due date with this one yet (it’s day after tomorrow), so we shall see.

I’m large and cranky and tired.  So tired that I can’t sit down to read without dozing off.  Yesterday I thought I had pretty much had it and was ready to cry “uncle” and ask my midwife to help things along when I saw her this morning, but then I woke up this morning with a new resolve to just be patient and let things happen as they’re ready to happen.  I was rewarded with some signs this morning that things are moving along (I’ll spare you the gruesome details), although, of course, it could still be days away.

I’m ready.  I think.

, ,

13 Comments on “Baby Watch”

  1. Crittle
    June 20, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    Use liberally: http://haveyouhadthatbabyyet.com/

    • Lisa
      June 20, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      Hahaha! I remember that you used this 🙂

  2. Kristi
    June 20, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    woo hoo! Getting close!!

  3. Karen
    June 20, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Oh good. I’ve been wondering. The Ben and Jerrys sounds great.

  4. ana74x
    June 21, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    No time ever drags like the last days of a pregnancy 😉

  5. Triciar\
    June 21, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    So exciting. I have about 9 (no joke) friends who are/were expecting right around the same time. A few more to go! You are one, but sounds like you’ll be on your way soon! Good luck!

  6. Darla
    June 21, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I am the easy labor fairy, I have come to bestow upon you a magical 45 minute labor at a convenient time, when you are well rested. You’ve had 6 children, lucky number 7 should be a breeze, because you deserve it dammit! ^_^

    • Lisa
      June 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Funny, Darla :). I think I need longer than 45 minutes though!

      • Darla
        June 21, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

        The Universe owes you a 45 minute labor. ( also a winning lottery ticket, and Tropical vacation) They sound like a Fairy tale.. I know, but I have had 45 minute labors, so I know they exist! ( In conjunction with 10 pound babies) I even had nurses make me cross my legs while waiting for the doctor. You’re just one baby behind me, I say it’s coming fast! lol

  7. Stacey
    June 22, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    We need a pic of that bomb-belly! You wear pregnancy so well, are you really sure this one is the last? 😉 I’m also wishing you a nice easy labor, but not as fast as Darla’s. How about something in the 2-3 hours range? Can we make that happen for you? 🙂

    • Lisa
      June 22, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      2 – 3 hours would be perfect! Will post belly pic later today. And yes, this is my last – I swear it this time!! I’m 44 for crying out loud!

      • Stacey
        June 22, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

        Oh, and Happy Due Date to you, too!

  8. Amy
    June 23, 2012 at 2:02 am #

    I was sure you were going to have a due date baby, guess I was wrong! Happy due date anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

