Preschool: Ready, Set, Go!


Today was the long-awaited, much-anticipated first day of preschool for Finn.  In a nutshell, it went terrifically well.

I’ve been a little jittery about it, but I managed to not drive myself sleepless over it last night.  This morning while Finn was eating his breakfast, he pointed to this wall-hanging we have in the kitchen and said “tree.”

 

Well, buh-low me down, as Popeye would say.  First of all, I’ve never heard him say “tree” before (did I mention – no, I didn’t – that he started back up in speech therapy yesterday after taking the summer off, and his speech therapist commented on how blown away she was by how much his vocabulary had grown over summer break?).  Secondly, I had no idea that he could identify something from a rendering such as this – not even a photograph, for goodness sake!  Michael then showed him another picture that had a tree in it and asked Finn what it was, and he said, “tree.”  Like, “Duh, Daddy.”

A little later in the morning when I was getting him dressed, he got his backpack and said, “backpack.”  I didn’t know he knew that word, either!  I swear, this kid never stops surprising me.

I figured these demonstrations boded (bode?) well for a first day of preschool.  So off we went.

On the short (very short) drive over, I chanted in my head, “I’m not going to cry, I’m not going to cry, I’m not going to cry . . .” as I sniffled and hiccupped my way there.  Yes, I’ve been through this before – many times.  But leaving any of them at school for the very first time never fails to do a number on me.

Finn was totally fine with it.

 

Here’s part of the outdoor area of the preschool.  It’s amazing – not your typical playground, no.  It’s all gardens that the kids help tend, fountains, a treehouse, and more.  Very sensory rich.  I love it.

 

 

When we got to the classroom, Finn scampered off.  I really don’t recall him ever having any separation anxiety, so I didn’t expect that he would have any trouble saying goodbye to me.  He made himself right at home, and I took my leave quickly.

 

When I got home, Scarlett was asleep in her car seat, so I tiptoed her to the bedroom and closed the door.  And the house felt deathly quiet.  I honestly cannot remember the last time I experienced such utter quiet.  And unlike last week when the older kids all went back to school and I basked in the relative quiet, this time was different.  I felt lonely and a little lost.  I will have to get used to this, and make good use of the two mornings a week Finn will be at school.  And I will – I have goals!  Cleaning and organizing, writing, putting together photo books – all kinds of things I’ve been putting off forever and a day.

Three and a half hours later, it was time to pick Finn up.  When I got there, he had paint all over his shirt – a sure sign of a fun, successful day.  His teacher said he did just fine, only got upset at one point during song time when they were singing “John Jacob” really loudly, and she couldn’t figure out if he was bothered by the volume or by having to sit down with everyone.  I’m guessing it was the latter since she said he wasn’t covering his ears.  She said he got along great with the other kids, and kissed everyone night-night when they went down for naps (Finn doesn’t nap, so I pick him up when the other kids go down for naps).

A good day.

 

4 Comments on “Preschool: Ready, Set, Go!”

  1. Caryl Becker Phillips
    September 6, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    Crying.

  2. P
    September 6, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Plan to do nothing for a month or two my friend. And by nothing I mean nothing besides baby stuff. Good luck to you all!!

  3. P
    September 6, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    You see the irony and foreshadowing in the tree plaque too I’m sure…for every season; time to change mommy!

    I feel the same about each issue you mentioned at our second year of preschool. Benji signs but NO ONE at school knows it. This fact BAFFLES me because it’s a spec needs class. I feel like I’m dropping him off in Russia or Mexico. My communication with the teacher was pretty poor last year but I’m optimistic the new teacher will be better and a more organic/natural person to share things. She has four kids; she might get our hunger for info more.

    I’m hoping to spend some time in his class (he’s my baby; I’m free when he’s at class) and get him time with typical peers during class but have him in another class (that meet in parks!!) that I will take him & be at to get that time too. He has two older sisters each three years apart.

  4. Asha
    September 6, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    I am so happy for Finn, but your words left my eyes wet. Happy, relieved tears.
    Please just bask in the quietude of the house! You deserve it!

Leave a Reply

