Scarlett @ Three Months


Three months!!  Whooeee – how is it possible?  Before I know it, she’ll be dating!  Oy.

At three months, here’s what my little nugget is up to –

Still Little Miss Cranky Pants much of the time, although she is having more frequent and longer periods of just chillin’, cooing and gracing us with her lopsided grin.  She’s a tough baby – have I mentioned that?  I know these pictures make me look like a liar.  She still wants to be held almost all the time, and she doesn’t sleep on the go.  That means that when I’m out running errands with her (which is necessary a lot of the time), she doesn’t sleep, and then she gets so overtired that she just melts down and is a wreck.  I’ve successfully gotten her completely hooked on sleeping in her swing, although for the last two days she has napped in her bassinet (yay!  Fingers crossed that this is a new trend!).

Let me just stop there and have a quick word about Attachment Parenting.  I’m a big fan, a believer, in Attachment Parenting, to the extent that it’s possible.  And that is key – to the extent that it’s possible.  Hardcore AP just isn’t possible with this many kids – at least it isn’t for me.  I can’t sleep with her all the time, and I can’t wear her all the time, I just can’t.  We all do what we can, don’t we?

(And that reminds me, I’ve been meaning to sort my thoughts and write about why we moms give so much of a crap, anyway, about how other moms parent their kids.  Maybe I’ll get to that soon.)

Back to Miss Scarlett: She’s rolling from tummy to back and from back to tummy, and as you can see, she rocks a tutu and pearls.  I don’t know how much she weighs, but she’s a peanut, and is still in newborn clothes.

She had her first cold this past week.  I knew it was inevitable with all the other kids back to school and bringing cooties home.  Fortunately it was pretty mild and short-lived.  She did spike a fever for one night – and fevers in infants scare the crap out of me thanks to the twins both contracting meningitis when they were two months old.  But Scarlett was fine, so.

 

 

What else?  When I was pregnant with her, I meant to start pumping and giving her bottles within the first couple of weeks, but it just never happened.  So she’s 100% a boobie girl, which means I can’t leave her for more than an hour or two.  I remember this frustrating me with some of my other babies (none of them ever took kindly to bottles anyway, so it probably doesn’t make too much of a difference that I never even tried with Scarlett), but it doesn’t feel like I big deal this time around.  She’s only going to be a baby for such a short time.

 

 

As for me, three months later, I’m hanging in there.  Sometimes I still wonder if I might be dealing with some postpartum issues.  The crying jags still hit me from time to time, and they seem to come out of the blue, but they seem to have become less frequent.  I honestly don’t know if it’s hormonal, or just life stuff.  Probably a combination, but I’m dealing as best as I can.

I had a surprisingly hard time with my birthday this year . . . it’s funny – having a new baby should make me feel young, right?  But in some ways it just doesn’t.  Not that I feel old, exactly, but . . . I guess I’m at a point where I know my youth is truly behind me.  I have a hard time with passages – I always have.  And having this last baby at my age, it’s been such a gift, a bonus, but it’s also come with the knowledge that this will never, ever happen again, and that so many of the things you work towards and look forward to during the first  couple of decades of adulthood are just behind me, period.  Does that make sense?  It’s not that I’m not grateful for the bounty of my life, but there has been a sadness lately that so much of my life is behind me.

Blah.

I have up days and down days, and don’t we all anyway?

But Scarlett, she’s a peach.

 

 

13 Comments on “Scarlett @ Three Months”

  1. momkeepinitreal
    September 23, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    Scarlett is beautiful. Love the pearls!

    • Lisa
      September 23, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. rebecca2000
    September 24, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    I just showed these to my husband. Great photos. Makes me want another baby.

  3. Sue Dedrick
    September 24, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    oh Lisa she is so beautiful!

  4. Meriah Nichols
    September 24, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    those are some super great photos! WOW!

  5. Holly F.
    September 24, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    Scarlett certainly is a peach! I don’t often feel like a child’s name suits them immediately, but for Scarlett, it does. There is something in her eyes that seems Scarlett-esque to me. Her eyes are certainly older than she is…old soul type thing. When she smiles in pictures, it resembles the smile of someone who knows a secret.

    I don’t want this to come across as rude or judgemental, but was it an active choice to have so many children? Have you always wanted a large family or just threw caution to the wind and allowed to happen what would happen? (I know there are many Christian families that believe in the quiverfull idea and therefore strive to create large families in order to serve God but I know that doesn’t apply to you.) If you have addressed this in an earlier post, please point me to it as I’m a fairly new reader.

    • Lisa
      September 24, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      Holly! Not rude at all. I’m going to address this in a separate post, if you don’t mind, as I’m sure a lot of people are curious 😉

      • Holly F.
        September 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

        I look forward to it reading it! 🙂

      • Holly F.
        September 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

        Also, it is time to update your “ducks” photo. 😉 Or wait until she can walk.

      • Lisa
        September 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

        I know! We’ll take a new family photo in the next month or two for the holidays, so I’m waiting until then 🙂

      • Lisa
        September 24, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

        Scarlett is actually in that photo . . . sort of. I was about 9 weeks pregnant with her there 🙂

  6. Stacey
    September 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    What a doll! That second photo is just too precious. She’s a keeper, I think!

  7. Julie
    September 26, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Definitely one of the cutest babies I have ever seen! And great photos, too. I totally understand your recent feelings and have had a hard time articulating my very similar ones. I had my now 3 yr old at age 43, significantly later than her older sisters & brother. Such an incredible gift and bonus, but I do feel that melancholy that a certain phase of life is over.

Leave a Reply

