Christmas 2012


On Christmas Eve, Michael and I waited until the kids were sound asleep (or so we thought) to bring up all the gifts that had been wrapped and hidden in the garage.

Let me just stop right there and ponder this whole Santa thing for a minute.  It seems that every family does Santa differently – and I only realized this after we had been long stuck in our own tradition, which I basically took from my own childhood (Michael is Jewish and, although his family apparently celebrated both Hanukkah and Christmas – at least the presents part – to some degree, he doesn’t seem to have more than vague recollections of it), and that is, Santa wraps all his presents and leaves them under the tree Christmas Even night after the kids are asleep.  Come to find out later that in some families, Santa does not wrap his gifts, only the gifts from Mom and Dad are wrapped; and in some families, Santa only fills the stockings.  I could have saved myself a lot of work all these years!  Here I am, wrapping every damn thing every year, setting aside special Santa paper so the kids won’t say “Hey, Santa uses the same paper you use, Mommy!”, using special gift tags that are from Santa, and trying to disguise my writing!  And to think, all this time, I could have just been throwing a few unwrapped gifts under the tree from Santa!

There needs to be a manual about this sort of thing.

Anyhoo, so Michael and I are bringing the Christmas haul upstairs from the garage, tiptoeing and being as stealthy as we can, and suddenly the girls’ bedroom door pops open and there’s Annabelle.  “Presents?” she says.  “PRESENTS?!”  Thinking quickly, I say, “Um, we’re just helping Santa out, rearranging some things.  You’re dreaming.  Go back to bed now.”

Sigh.

They got us up at the crack of dawn yesterday morning.

DSC_0038

Annabelle came into our room and said, “Mommy, did you leave cookies out for Santa?”  Shit.  Fail.  “No, honey, I guess I forgot.  But I’m sure Santa had plenty of cookies from other families.”  “WHO CARES?!?!”  She shouted.  “LET’S OPEN PRESENTS!  CAN WE OPEN PRESENTS NOW?!?!”

And so began Christmas Day, 2012.

DSC_0058

xmas01
xmas02

 

xmas03

 

Everyone was happy with their bounty.

Our traditional Christmas dinner is filet mignon and cheese fondue, and then a chocolate fondue for dessert.

This year I made The Melting Pot’s Wisconsin Trio cheese fondue (substituting provolone for butterkase, as the latter was impossible to find anywhere); it was delicious.

550548_4577953319938_1827862416_n

And Chocolate Cream Pie fondue* for dessert –

540805_4578290048356_887401400_n

 

Every year, the pictures look the same; the kids just keep getting bigger.

_____________________________

Chocolate Cream Pie Fondue

8 oz. milk chocolate, finely chopped (you can use milk chocolate chips)

4 oz. cream cheese, cubed

1/2 cup milk

1/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Melt the chocolate in a double boiler set over simmering water, stirring constantly.  Add the milk, cream cheese and vanilla, and continue to stir until completely dissolved and blended.  Transfer to a warm fondue pot over low heat.  For dipping, sliced bananas, large marshmallows, cubed pound cake, and graham crackers are all good!

, ,

3 Comments on “Christmas 2012”

  1. Heather
    December 26, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Santa doesn’t wrap his presents at our house. He brings the one thing they asked Santa for and then the rest are from Mom and Dad. That saved us from the really long and pricey Christmas lists since my kids believed Santa could get whatever he wants from the workshop. He also fills up the stockings. Love your idea of the fondue dinner on Christmas night. May have to steal that one! Merry Christmas!

  2. Stacey
    December 27, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    I love hearing how other families celebrate! At our house, Santa only fills the stockings and he’s far too busy to wrap everything! I wrapped one Santa gift one time when something for Tiven was too big to fit in her stocking, but she was sleeping in the living room where the stockings were hung. I didn’t want her waking up & playing with it too soon & she knew not to open anything wrapped.

    We don’t open stockings until after Mama & Papa have had a cup of coffee. We eat breakfast — cinnamon rolls or quiche, something I can make ahead & pop in the oven for a few minutes — while opening gifts. I love the idea of having a traditional dinner every year but I get bored pretty easily with the same old thing. I have a few favorite special things that I rotate through, so I guess my tradition is “one of the three.” 🙂

    And tell Kevin that I love his new hair color, but now he really should move past that bob style & go with something short & spiky. He could totally pull it off.

    • Lisa
      December 28, 2012 at 12:34 am #

      Stacey, I hate his hair. I mean, the color is fine, but I wish he would do something with it.

Leave a Reply

