So Long, 2012


I swear it seems like we were just saying goodbye to 2011, and here we are, another year behind us.  Time certainly marches on, doesn’t it?

2012 was a somewhat bumpy, somewhat eventful year for us.  The highlights:

We got a new baby . . .

DSC_0103

. . . who, over the course of the year, grew into this:

DSC_0057

 

Scout’s a good dog.  So much energy, though!  And at 80+ pounds, she’s under the impression that she’s still a little lap puppy.

Michael went to Washington DC and appeared before the United States Supreme Court.  Very exciting; most attorneys never get to do this.

IMG_6416

 

IMG_6420

 

IMG_6445

 

Back in January, Michael had another brief hospital stay, which, looking back, I did not handle too well.  Granted I was pregnant, moody, tired, and overwhelmed, but I still feel a little ashamed and wish I were more the stoic type.  In any event, since then, Michael has enjoyed good health, and his annual scan a few weeks ago revealed that he’s still cancer-free.  He now has three and half years of remission behind him, and the memories of his cancer, treatment, and the onslaught of resultant medical issues are beginning to take on a hazy quality.

DSC_0001Joey played another season of Little League, and his passion for baseball lives on.  Watching him play is one of the highlights of my life as a mom.  He also shocked all of us recently by scoring one of the lead roles in his school’s production of Bye Bye Birdie; he has been cast as Albert Peterson and will give five performances at the end of February!  He turned 10 over the summer, and we took him to San Francisco to celebrate.IMG_6959

Kevin turned 15 (and is now about to turn 16!), got his braces off after nearly five years, started shaving, got a girlfriend, and dyed his hair.  Adolescence has been bumpy, but so far not the nightmare I’ve feared.  He’s a good kid, and I feel fortunate to have a close relationship with him.

kevin
It was a fairly uneventful year for the girls.  They all got bigger.  Annabelle and Daisy entered third grade, and Lilah first grade.

DSC_0342

 

Finn turned 4 in July and started preschool in September.  He attends a typical preschool

DSC_0046with typical peers and is absolutely thriving there.  We are so grateful that the opportunity for him to attend this program fell into our laps, that they have been so welcoming of him and see him as a whole, valuable child.

As for me, I got published in Literary Mama and Mamalode this year, both prestigious publications.  One of them I will actually be getting paid for – peanuts, but still, it’s my first paid writing gig.  Writing remains my passion, and I still dream of making it big, or at least bigger.  I’m still trying to find a balance between the demands of mothering a slew of kids, maintaining a house, and carving out time for writing.  Every year I begin the year hoping that this will be the year that I write something important and meaningful and that it finds an audience; I know it’s really up to me.

After the shock of finding myself pregnant again at the ripe old age of 44 wore off, I enjoyed a smooth, mostly uneventful pregnancy.  I savored it, feeling that, although very dsc_0096unexpected, it was a gift.  In  June, Scarlett Rose entered the world, a beautiful home birth after a labor of approximately 45 minutes!  It was probably my easiest birth, and a beautiful note on which to end my childbearing career.  I had a rough go of things for a while after she was born, but eventually found my feet back on steady ground.

Scarlett has stolen all of our hearts, and six months after she was born, it’s hard to remember our family without her in it.

DSC_0022

 

I capped of the year with some new ink representing me and Michael (the vines) and our brood.

DSC_0189

 

I’m not big on making New Year’s resolutions, but I have hopes for 2013: that I live purposefully and in gratitude, that my kids feel safe and loved, that my marriage is peaceful, and my friendships flourishing.

So long, 2012.

, ,

9 Comments on “So Long, 2012”

  1. Caryl Becker Phillips
    December 31, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

    Happy New Year dear friend. May all of your dreams come true.

  2. lifewithkaishon
    January 1, 2013 at 6:01 am #

    I hope you have a wonderful year. I love your puppy : )
    Your kids are just as cute as can be!
    And your tattoo? Fabulous to the max/

  3. withalittlemoxie
    January 1, 2013 at 6:26 am #

    What a great family letter! Love it. You know what else I love? That I’ve been reading your blog now for probably 3 years, so I’m really watching your kids grow up too. It’s pretty awesome.

  4. Jenn
    January 1, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

    I will try to leave this brief. I started reading this year after i became pregnant after losing my stillborn son who happened to have a T21 diagnosis. I was so scared when i became pregnant and your experience gave me the courage to face this pregnancy fearlessly. We are eagerly awaiting the birth of our little one. Thank you so much for your column, i feel like i am reading a letter from a friend. There is more i could write (oh i am 37 so i felt doomed to have children at my “old” age). Thank you, thank you, thank you for giving me courage and a smile on days when i really needed it. I do not think you could grasp how much you have helped me learn a great deal about family and parenting.

    • Lisa
      January 1, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

      Jenn, I am deeply sorry for your loss. I can only begin to imagine the scar that would leave on a mother’s heart.

      I am so touched by your words. Every once in a while, I am honored to get an intimate glimpse of someone who reads my blog, and it really means a lot to me. I write mostly for myself, but it’s very meaningful to me when someone tells me that what I write moves them in some way. So, thank you.

      Congratulations on the upcoming arrival of your new baby!

  5. talkbirth
    January 1, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    I love reading your blog, so you’re finding an audience! 🙂 On my own blog I recently wrote about the whys of writing and sharing online, perhaps it might speak to you: http://talkbirth.me/2012/12/29/i-am-a-story-woman/

    • Lisa
      January 2, 2013 at 1:40 am #

      Thank you! Really enjoyed your post. You’re right – sharing our stories is what it’s all about.

  6. Isabella
    January 2, 2013 at 1:06 am #

    Happy New Year, Lisa! I absolutely loved this post, I love the way you write and I wish you all the best for 2013.

    • Lisa
      January 2, 2013 at 1:40 am #

      Thank you, Isabella! Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

