Baby, Baby, Baby


Today was the day, the day I’ve been both anticipating and dreading for weeks.  The day of the ultrasound.

And I’m going to foist pictures on you, because I know that looking at someone else’s ultrasound pictures is almost as exciting as looking at someone else’s vacation slides!

Baby in profile; you can make out the wee little face

Another head shot and a clear view of a hand; maybe a thumb sucker?

Bottoms up! Picture a baby sitting with legs splayed on a glass table; this would be the view from under the table. Those two prongs sticking up are the legs and in between? Its sweet little bottom. There doesn't appear to be any dangly bits, but it's too early to say for sure.

My wonderful, awesome, amazing midwife was there for the festivities.  I was nervous about what the ultrasound might reveal.   I told the tech (who did my ultrasounds with Lilah and Finn as well) in no uncertain terms that I was not interested in knowing about soft markers for anything.  I truly don’t want information that’s only going to lead to speculation.  All I wanted to know was: (a) does the baby appear to be viable, and (b) how far along am I?

Well, the baby indeed appears to be viable.  Little heart hammering away, brain formed, all major parts accounted for, and it was shaking and shimmying in there.  The magic of seeing one’s baby for the very first time, it just never goes away.

And surprise, surprise, apparently I’m about a week farther along than I thought – she put me at about 13 and a half weeks, with an EDD of June 15.

Now we just need good news about Michael and we can get back to the business of living happily ever after.

,

5 Comments on “Baby, Baby, Baby”

  1. Jackie Britt Mulholland
    December 14, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    Very exciting! Im so glad everything looks good! Im living vicariously through you since we are fairly certain we are finsihed having babies.

  2. Alyson
    December 14, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Well I am actually thrilled to look at your ultra sound picture. I actually got ” wet eyes” as it coined around here. I have been thinking about Michael’s results and sending out lots of positive thoughts(sorry no prayers being the heathen that I am). I am here for you no matter for anything you need to talk about( or text about LOL ). Second trimester has commenced,how awesome

  3. Addie
    December 14, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Lisa, congratulations on everything looking good!

  4. Heather Stewart Seal
    December 14, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I also love looking at ultrasound pics and vacation pics.

  5. Melissa
    December 15, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    I must be strange then, because I do like looking at other people’s ultrasound pictures. I just can’t help being excited! Glad to hear all looks good.

Leave a Reply

