The Beast


So, yeah, I know that last post was pretty heavy.  I’m glad I wrote it, finally, though.  There is a healing quality to writing.  It kind of dispels the power of the event to some degree, if that makes sense.  I wrote it, and I’ve re-read it since then a number of times, and I feel more and more removed from it each time I read it.

Anyway, all the supportive comments are very much appreciated.  And really, it’s like, wow, was that really my life?  Because my life looks nothing like that nowadays.  Amazing how far a person can travel in a few years’ time.

On a lighter note . . .

________________________________

That eight-pound puppy we brought home not quite two and a half months ago?  As of this morning at the vet’s she tipped the scale at 33 and a half pounds!  And she’s only four months old!

She’s very much into little projects around the house.  Here, I’ll show you some of them:

She’s adding some decorative touches to the buffet –

 

Refinishing the piano bench (the one Michael’s had since childhood) –

 

Recarving the coffee table –

She’s a very talented woodworker, wouldn’t you say?

But she also likes to work with upholstery.  Apparently she’s decided that the underside of the sofa must go.

And to think I was trying very hard to talk Michael into getting TWO lab pups!  It’s kind of like wanting to have a baby  – you think, “Awww, a cute widdle baby!  Who doesn’t love a sweet baby?!  Huh?  Who?!”  At that point, you’re not thinking of the whiny toddler that follows the cute, sweet baby, or the demanding grade-schooler, or the snotty adolescent, or the surly teenager . . . oh, sorry, I got sidetracked there.  Where was I?

Oh yeah.  Puppies.  Scout.  She’s a creative one, too.  She likes different art mediums, but especially crayons.  She eats them by the dozens and finds that partially digested?  They add very interesting hues to her poop.  I’ll spare you pictures of that.  Unless you really want to see?

At the vet’s today, she got her first rabies shot.  The doc told me it will probably make her somewhat lethargic for the next day or so.  I said, “Thank you!”

She’s a beastie baby.

, , ,

4 Comments on “The Beast”

  1. TUC
    March 9, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Holy cow, is she eating for two as well?

  2. Heidi Kestrel
    March 9, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    OMG! LOVE that last picture!

  3. Meriah
    March 9, 2012 at 5:26 am #

    That’s a great shot with Finn at the end. Soooo cute.

  4. Kara Keenan
    March 9, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Labs have sooo much energy! My parents have a Black Lab mix and a German Shepherd, and my Dad takes both dogs on 4-5 mile walks twice a day. They aren’t puppies either- the Lab is 3 years old, and weighs 80 lbs or so, the Shepherd is 2 years old and is over 70 at this point. Big friendly dogs, who love the kids and who tolerate a lot of “love” from the kids!

Leave a Reply

