Finn’s Awesome Preschool . . . or, Beautiful Inclusion


Yesterday the preschool Finn attends had its annual family feast in honor of the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday.  It was a time for the families to sit down together and share a meal (“breaking bread” together is an important element of this preschool program, as the director is a big believer in connecting with one another through communal activities; the kids eat breakfast and lunch together every day, provided by the school), and a way for the school to thank the families for their involvement in the program.

Eating proficiently with utensils (including soup from a spoon!) and drinking from an open cup are just two of the skills Finn has mastered merely by having these skills modeled by typical peers.

The outdoor area is a kids’ paradise – so much to see and do and explore.  Finn is completely at home there and wanted to show us everything.

I’m not sure any if the kids see anything different about Finn.  They all seem to accept him as just one of them.  They all greet him when I drop him off in the morning, and there is one little girl in particular who proclaims Finn her “best friend” and hugs him without reservation.  The teachers recognize Finn’s differences without allowing those differences to define him; they talk to him the same way they talk to the other kids, they have generally the same expectations of him that they do the other children (taking his dishes up to the teacher after eating, for instance, and picking up toys that he is finished playing with).  They see him as a whole person with value and potential.  I wish with all my heart that the whole world could see him that way.

, , , ,

11 Comments on “Finn’s Awesome Preschool . . . or, Beautiful Inclusion”

  1. Jaida
    November 15, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    Just gorgeous!! I am SO happy that you have found a preschool home that you love. I think that this experience will really prepare him for kindergarten when it’s time.

    I am a little surprised by how *not* different Pacey’s peers seem to regard him as. He’s a little more openly affectionate than the other kids but the feedback I get from the parents is that the kids think he’s sweet.

    This post just made me smile, and Pacey looked at the pictures of Finn and thought they were him 🙂

  2. Carolyn
    November 16, 2012 at 1:22 am #

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful event and the pictures of a great place for children. Easter Seals here in Daytona Beach has pre-school inclusion. If the child has any therapies, the therapists are right there on the spot, no need for special appointments and special trips. I also, with my whole heart, wish for inclusion for all the children. They can learn so much from one another.

  3. Cheryl Tierney Kinne
    November 16, 2012 at 3:48 am #

    Love that this experience is working out so well for you all. I hope I can find the same for my son.

  4. Meredith
    November 16, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    I love looking at pictures of Finn. He’s just so stinkin cute!

  5. Sue
    November 16, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Me, too.

  6. Becca
    November 16, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    What a wonderful set-up they have there! Inclusion is a wonderful thing…

    Btw, could he possibly be ANY cuter????

  7. Megan
    November 17, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    I’m so glad, Lisa!

  8. kalerae
    November 18, 2012 at 1:53 am #

    Pre-schools sure have changed from the basement of your neighbourhood church where you mostly coloured or glued popsicle sticks together….this place looks pretty awesome.

  9. Isabella
    November 24, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I am so happy for you and for Finn, Lisa. What a wonderful preschool!
    By the way, I’ve recently discovered your blog and I love it!
    Finn is a gorgeous little boy and seeing all these beautiful pictures of him being so involved in his school activities brought a big smile on my face.

    • Lisa
      November 24, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

      Thank you, Isabella!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So Long, 2012 | Life As I Know It - December 31, 2012

    […] Finn turned 4 in July and started preschool in September.  He attends a typical preschool […]

Leave a comment