Stumbling Up the Road to Postpartum Wellness


Well, it’s been a somewhat eventful few days here on the home front.

Sue, my midwife came over a few nights ago and brought me some magic potion to perhaps help ease the blues.  While she was here, she weighed Scarlett on her scale (the very same scale Scarlett was weighed on at birth), and she weighed 7 pounds 12 ounces – so she is gaining (you might remember that I was concerned because she wasn’t yet back up to her birth weight of 7.5 at her first pediatrician appointment at 2 weeks old). I am therefore officially putting that worry to rest.

Sue also made arrangements for me to see her favorite chiropractor on Saturday morning to address this lower back/hip pain I’ve been having for so long.  I confess that I was skeptical – but also desperate.  I’ve been in chronic pain for a few months now with it, and it’s only gotten worse since Scarlett was born, which I’m sure has added to my feeling punk.

When I got up Saturday morning, my left boob was sore.  I also noticed a white coating on Scarlett’s tongue, so I assumed thrush.  I’ve never had it before, and none of my babies have, either.  I packed Scarlett up and headed to Sue’s office (she shares office space with her chiropractor), and she wrote down some things to use to treat thrush.

So the chiro has me lie on this table/contraption (I fondly named it “the rack”), and after asking me a bunch of questions, she proceeds to examine, and then adjust me.  She said it wasn’t sciatica at all, but a strain of the sacroiliac joint (huh?).  She basically tortured me.  No, really – I was yelling out in pain as she twisted me and cracked me this way and that.  When she was done, I slowly got up from the table – er, rack – and . . . the pain was gone.  As in, no trace of it.  I’m not kidding.

Phew.

Sue and I chitchatted for a while, and then I left.  On the drive home, I suddenly started feeling achey.  All over.  And I had the chills.  Very quickly, I started to feel really crappy.  I thought to myself, “What the . . . ??  Did that chiropractor eff me up?  Did she trigger some weird sick reaction in me?”  No, really – I actually thought that for about two solid minutes.  It was just so weird how suddenly I felt so sick.  When I got home, I took my temperature, and it was 101.  And my boob was really hurting.  And it hit me then: mastitis.  In all my years of nursing, I’ve never had that either.  I guess I’ve been lucky.  I got undressed and got into bed with Scarlett, and that’s where I stayed until this morning – for two solid days, I was feverish and achey and more miserable than I could imagine from a breast infection, and all I did was sleep and nurse while Michael took care of the other kids.  I’ve heard about mastitis but always thought it must be trumped up – now I know.  I would not wish it on anyone.  Okay, maybe a few people . . .

Anyhow, when I woke up this morning I knew I had turned the corner (thanks to antibiotics, Advil, warm compresses, and lots of rest).  I feel much better today, thank goodness.

Oh yeah, and sometime over the weekend, Finn got out of the house, out of the yard, and took off down the street.  We have a childproof doorknob cover on the inside of the front door specifically to prevent him from getting out, but apparently it had come off, and he knows how to open the front gate, so, off he went.  A neighbor down the street saw him, thank goodness, and brought him home.  I still feel sick inside when I think of how easily he could have run into the street, or just kept booking it down the sidewalk if nobody had seen him.

It’s hard to say how I’m feeling mentally/emotionally at this point  after losing an entire weekend to near unconsciousness.  Last week I was still having crying jags.  None today – just the usual level of aggravation today.  My friends have been so wonderful – especially since I broke down and confessed what a tough time I’m having – bringing us meals and having the older kids over for playdates to give me a little breathing room.  I’ve got a pretty great support network when I admit I need it.  And I’m deeply grateful.

, , ,

5 Comments on “Stumbling Up the Road to Postpartum Wellness”

  1. Alyson
    July 17, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Sounds like you are turning a corner..how awesome! Mastitis is no joke,worst thing ever in my opinion. I could tell Scarlett was gaining just by your pictures, but,I am glad you don’t have to think about it anymore. The right chiropractor can be wonderful,yay for no more pain. As far as Finn,scariest thing ever,Cullen is a bolter so I have unfortunately BTDT,I don’t know what your doors are like but we put a lock at the top of the door to help.
    Most of all I am so happy you have such a wonderful support system and proud of you for putting out the call for help

  2. Kara
    July 17, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    That baby is gorgeous!

    My middle child was/is an escape artist. Like Alyson above, we had to put locks at the top of the doors so she couldn’t get out without someone’s help. We put in the bolt locks- similar to what you find in hotels. It was a cheap fix for a lot of peace of mind.

  3. Laney
    July 18, 2012 at 2:19 am #

    I could not get over how much she looks like a combo of FInn (which I think is partly just that blonde hair!) and Annabelle in the one shot!

    Ugh, sorry to hear about the mastitis. That was worse for me than any infection I’ve ever had. You think kidney and bladder are bad until that one.

  4. Amy
    July 19, 2012 at 3:28 am #

    Gosh she is precious, a really beautiful baby…well done momma. I think she looks a lot like you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So Long, 2012 | Life As I Know It - December 31, 2012

    […] was probably my easiest birth, and a beautiful note on which to end my childbearing career.  I had a rough go of things for a while after she was born, but eventually found my feet back on steady […]

Leave a Reply

